Prop Balancer Question - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Prop Balancer Question

Old 05-31-2006, 05:44 AM
  #1  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default Prop Balancer Question

How important is it to balance your props? Is it any more critical when run on a brushless or brushed motor? If so, what is a good prop balancer?

Thanks,

Tom
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 06:09 AM
  #2  
Cowboy
Airborne Cowboy
 
Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Great Northwet
Posts: 136
Default

Grasshopper
I use the TF Top Flite Precision Magnetic Balancer. I seems to work good and is easy to use. I have flown props without balancing and have flown props balanced, couldn't tell any differance. I am sure that a balanced prop has got to have less vibration and be easier on the motor. I figure that it doesn't take much time. so I do it.
I don't think it matters what type of motor , its going to help one way or the other.
Cowboy is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 06:26 AM
  #3  
tim hooper
Single-task man
 
tim hooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Telford, UK
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by Cowboy View Post
I have flown props without balancing and have flown props balanced, couldn't tell any differance.
In total contrast to the previous post, I've had props that were so far out of of balance that I didn't dare attempt to run them at full thottle until they'd been balanced! APC E props are usually the worst, I've found.

There seem to be a lot of other factors involved too. Frontal overhang will tend to exaggerate any imbalance, as will rear (reverse) mounting the motor. A cheap and nasty plastic spinner can also be a contributory factor.

For balancing I go for the homemade option of a couple of knifeblades, parallel-mounted, on either side of a wooden block.

tim
tim hooper is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 06:44 AM
  #4  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

I totally agree with Tim. The APC E props seem to really be out of balance, especially the ones Ive been getting lately. They have a lot of mold flash left on them. A little flash around the tips, and a lot around the hub. Brushed or brushless has no bearing on if a prop should be balanced or not. A prop is a spinning mass that needs to be in balance no matter what its bolted to. I use this Balancer. Its not the greatest but it gets the job done. I'm really wanting to get a better one.
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/balancer.htm
Rugar is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 10:49 AM
  #5  
redgiki
Member
 
redgiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 768
Default

I use a Du-Bro Spin-Rite balancer. Works well.

With my Master Airscrew 10x8E props, balancing is essential. The blades on these props are very out-of-balance from the factory, with a lot of flashing hanging off until I sand it off. The prop is also MUCH stiffer and heavier than the stock E-Flite 10x8E prop my Jug came with.

On the plus side, it's also a great deal "thrustier". A couple of extra ounces of thrust make for much taller loops. Yet runtimes are very comparable to the E-flite prop.

Anyway, for really lightweight slow-flyer props, I would say it's not absolutely critical, but is often important. For heavier or faster-spinning props, it's essential. Before I balanced my MA props, running my motor at full throttle threatened to break the motor mount off!
redgiki is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 05:14 AM
  #6  
major3d
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Prop Balance

I use the De-bro Tru-Spin Prop Balance.
major3d is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 05:38 AM
  #7  
R6_Infantry
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 139
Default

I use the Flite magnetic balance, works great except for the small stuff, any ideas for a substitute mandrel or ? I saw a post about using a piece from a CD ROM? or maybe a drill bit with some fuel hose used for holding the prop?
R6_Infantry is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 05:31 PM
  #8  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

I use my Top Flite Precision Magnetic Balancer on EVERY prop I use..... some are better than others, but seldom do I find a prop which is perfectly balanced straight from the package. Unbalanced props adversely affect performance, and play merry hell with bearings (and your safety if the motor breaks free from the mount!).
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 08:20 PM
  #9  
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,166
Default

I bought a Du-Bro balancer after I flew my T-28 with a ParkZone 3 blade prop that almost shook my airplane apart. This prop was so far out of balance that it was nearly impossible to get it balanced at all. Before this incident, I never bothered with balancing, now I do it to all my props.
simibill is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 01:49 AM
  #10  
FlyWheel
Ochroma Pyramidale Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 3,029
Default

Related question; how do you properly mount a prop on a balancer when the hole doesn't go all the way through (i.e. prop and "spinner" are a single molded piece)?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	gp04720group.jpg
Views:	341
Size:	8.3 KB
ID:	89103  

Last edited by FlyWheel; 01-04-2009 at 01:58 AM. Reason: Added attached photo
FlyWheel is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 12:55 AM
  #11  
smokejohnson
Super Contributor
 
smokejohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,687
Default

Originally Posted by FlyWheel View Post
Related question; how do you properly mount a prop on a balancer when the hole doesn't go all the way through (i.e. prop and "spinner" are a single molded piece)?
Nevermind :o
smokejohnson is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 02:23 AM
  #12  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

You have to go to the straightedge method with those, I would guess...
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 12:42 AM
  #13  
FlyWheel
Ochroma Pyramidale Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 3,029
Default

Originally Posted by xuzme720 View Post
You have to go to the straightedge method with those, I would guess...
"Straightedge method"? Explain (in reasonable detail) please.
FlyWheel is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 01:52 AM
  #14  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

Originally Posted by FlyWheel View Post
"Straightedge method"? Explain (in reasonable detail) please.
Take any sort of fairly sharp edged item(butter knife, metal ruler, etc.) and stand it upright in clay or anything that will keep it rock steady, then try to balance the prop on it. Use your normal balancing technique(sanding heavy side, painting light side) to get the prop to balance at the hub center. Not as precise as the magnetic balancers but effective.
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:15 AM
  #15  
FlyWheel
Ochroma Pyramidale Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 3,029
Default

Originally Posted by xuzme720 View Post
Take any sort of fairly sharp edged item(butter knife, metal ruler, etc.) and stand it upright in clay or anything that will keep it rock steady, then try to balance the prop on it. Use your normal balancing technique(sanding heavy side, painting light side) to get the prop to balance at the hub center. Not as precise as the magnetic balancers but effective.
The next obvious question is how does one go about getting the prop exactly centered on the edge? And considering all the weight would be above this edge, how does one compensate for the fact that the whole thing is top heavy?

Or am I missing the point (I never was good a "word pictures")
FlyWheel is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 07:00 PM
  #16  
Sir Raleigh
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,557
Default

I use a homemade prop balancer and a finger balancer.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Prop Balancer Parts.jpg
Views:	654
Size:	26.5 KB
ID:	89171   Click image for larger version

Name:	Prop Balancer Put Together And Set Up.jpg
Views:	982
Size:	26.0 KB
ID:	89172   Click image for larger version

Name:	Prop Is Balanced.jpg
Views:	927
Size:	25.4 KB
ID:	89173   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fingertip Prop Balancer.JPG
Views:	880
Size:	5.2 KB
ID:	89174  
Sir Raleigh is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:28 AM
  #17  
Murocflyer
WAA-08 Pilot #1
 
Murocflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edwards AFB, CA
Posts: 7,044
Default

I use this method. http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...t=27102&page=9

Scoll down towards the bottom of the page. It works very well.

Frank
Murocflyer is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:33 AM
  #18  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

Originally Posted by Murocflyer View Post
I use this method. http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...t=27102&page=9

Scoll down towards the bottom of the page. It works very well.

Frank
He was asking how to balance props with integrated spinners, i.e. no thru hole...
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:29 AM
  #19  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

Sorry, straightedge is vertical, prop goes across it horizontally... think of a "T" with the prop as the top of the T with the spinner/hub as the balance point and the ruler or knife as the upright part of the "T"...
Does that help?
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:37 AM
  #20  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

I think I may have missed your point on the last post. you probably won't get it to balance in place on the straightedge, best case scenario is you manage to get it perfect and it does (you can if using a metal ruler with a flat edge) but usually you can get it to a point where either side will drop as opposed to the same side always dropping (heavy blade).
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:44 AM
  #21  
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,906
Default

I was looking back over this and I think a picture would clear up any confusion. let me know if you need anything else.
Note:the prop I used isn't one with an integral spinner, (I didn't have any handy) but the technique is the same!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_5900.JPG
Views:	474
Size:	433.5 KB
ID:	89710   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_5901.JPG
Views:	508
Size:	346.0 KB
ID:	89711  
xuzme720 is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 03:50 PM
  #22  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default Prop Balancing.

I Like To add minute dabs of hot glue to the light side and if it becomes the heavy side scrape away until they are level, So Far Has Worked Great! Much Easier than sanding and painting.
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 07:22 PM
  #23  
Sir Raleigh
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,557
Default

But harder than adding a small piece of electrical tape...

Bill
Sir Raleigh is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 03:03 AM
  #24  
WILDTHAWN
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: GLENDALE ARIZONA
Posts: 179
Default

Anybody use a hobbyking prop balance
WILDTHAWN is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 10:38 AM
  #25  
z-matrix
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: EU/Hungary
Posts: 8
Default

i use the audiovisual/ESP duct tape iterating balancer technology
( examine by eye, spin it then listen to the sound, add more tape, substitute with epoxy/weights, iterate... done )
Though accelerometers and microphones can be used.
Z
z-matrix is offline  

Quick Reply: Prop Balancer Question


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.16880 seconds with 20 queries