The Chino Renegades RC Fliers Club - Page 401 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Off Topic Chit Chat Get to know other eflight modelers in the WattFlyer community here in this off topic forum. NO politics or religion discussion please (Holiday well wishes are ok)

The Chino Renegades RC Fliers Club

Old 03-22-2010, 05:43 PM
  #10001  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by Wrench66 View Post
Video from Sat morning at IE, man I gotta get an altimeter on there as I'm curious what kind of height the SS was at (was getting a little small for a while...lol).


[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vX9GA4yDP9c[/media]
Hey!! Wait a minute at the 2 min 32 second mark!!

I see my missing receiver!!

LOL..

Cool video as always Ray! It's just neat to see IE from that perspective!
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 12:30 AM
  #10002  
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 72
Thumbs up Airplanes good !!

Now I know why you guys like airplanes so much I flew that geebee and wow thats a blast. I went through 3 batteries too. Ray where did you get that video camera from,, thats pretty cool ... ,,, Chong I saw the reciever at the 2 min mark too .... :::
Slip23us is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 12:41 AM
  #10003  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

That wasnt the receiver , i have it for sale on rc groups now .....opps i meen , ya i saw it too .....I think i found my motor , neu 1112 , 800 ish watts 60 amps , 148 mph pitch speed with 6x6 prop
TbigD is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 02:12 AM
  #10004  
USMC_VTOL_Mech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale Ca
Posts: 187
Default

RE....Stealth fighter
never gonna be very fast due to the internal ducting
the intakes are not overly bad but the split exhaust is absolutely terrible
I flew mine on 3 cell as 4 cell was entirely too heavy
yes gravel and dirt runways are not good for EDF's....lots of FOD laying around
When I run up my F-86 I have to clear everything in a 5 foot radius from the front of it
I see HobbyCity now has 1300 and 1800 mah 4 cells...one of those would be entirely feasible
I pretty much do not fly mine anymore just kinda lost interest in it....

when I was stationed in Japan we went to a few air museums
towards the end of the war the zero's were painted with whatever they had on hand. Like the Germans alot of thier planes were painted using a mop and bucket.
i have one of these little zero's also and they fly like a dream....mines been hanging for a year or two

I flew my SS up to 1300 feet once
Was just about as big as a pencil dot at that altitude
USMC_VTOL_Mech is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 03:00 AM
  #10005  
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,380
Default

Originally Posted by Slip23us View Post
Now I know why you guys like airplanes so much I flew that geebee and wow thats a blast. I went through 3 batteries too. Ray where did you get that video camera from,, thats pretty cool ... ,,, Chong I saw the reciever at the 2 min mark too .... :::
It's an OK camera, kinda grainy but it is only 15fps @ 320x240......nothing like the little ones avail now though
I got it at a thrift store, but they are avail new. Takes a regular camera card SD and with a 1gb it will go for over 40mins. I pulled out the AA batteries and soldered a + & - lead with a servo plug and power it from the RX, using the ESC's power (it only pulls .2a when running). Sounds WAY more complicated than it is!..hahaha

http://www.amazon.com/Digigr8-DV182-.../dp/B000YMRDXQ

My next one will be much better..LOL
Wrench66 is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 03:06 AM
  #10006  
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,380
Default

Originally Posted by USMC_VTOL_Mech View Post

I flew my SS up to 1300 feet once
Was just about as big as a pencil dot at that altitude

WOW...I bet it was a dot in the sky! LOL The SS has a "special" way of handling at heights too far, others are using an Easy* or close as they are much more stable of an AV platform......I use the SS cause it's what I have on hand.....IF an Easy or any of the clones come along my way I will switch.

Come to think of it though, at that height I would have a REAL problem where we fly!!

LOL
Wrench66 is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:29 AM
  #10007  
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 72
Default Nice!!

Very cool Ray , thanks,, I got a new landing gear from the RCX show from http://www.millenniumrc.com/ they had a both there...
Slip23us is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:35 AM
  #10008  
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 72
Default Mini SS

Hey Ray I want this one , this would be cool to get !!

http://www.millenniumrc.com/MicroSSX.html
Slip23us is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 06:16 AM
  #10009  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Do you have a pic of your Gee Bee?
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:55 PM
  #10010  
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,380
Default

Originally Posted by Slip23us View Post
Hey Ray I want this one , this would be cool to get !!

http://www.millenniumrc.com/MicroSSX.html
Yeah, this guy is someone I've dealt with many times and he's always taken care of us online and at RCX. He's as good at customer service as Jeff @ Heads Up is.

http://www.gorillabobsrc.com/catalog/

They're a SSX supplier too, my SS has quite a few upgraded parts from his place.

Wrench66 is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 06:03 PM
  #10011  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

I need to keep this thread going...! Wow... 10,000+ posts.. I didn't even notice that earlier!

I did some work on the .40 sized Spitfire.. I think I'll be able to bring it out this weekend!

Retracts and all are good. The motor pulls about 1100 watts.. I'm thinking 950 or so in the air.

I got rid of the lead and decided to open up the front of the firewall to fit a 5000mah 5 cell battery. Now it balances perfectly.. i'm going to reinforce the motor mount and firewall though. Maybe pics later. I'm hoping it'll be a great flyer. I weighed the parts seperately and if I trust CMP's stated weight of the frame I'm coming in at 5lbs 9 oz. Not bad..

I'm using the 7amp HK BEC.. 100a SS ESC (I may switch it out for the 80a turnigy).

Finally opened up the GWS FW190 I got over the weekend.. and now I realize why this thing costs more. It is a different foam than the GWS Zero.. it's much bigger.. has panel lines and nice scale moldings! Plus they give you actual wheels and not ultralites! Totally worth $50. Might be fun as a retract attempt! It has the frame to hold them! I don't plan to make it a speed demon but do plan on running a 35-36 1400kv SK motor.
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 07:17 PM
  #10012  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Hey Chong, Post a picture of the 1100watts here...

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...1&goto=newpost

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 08:01 PM
  #10013  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Kinda like Christmas here today , santa (mailman) brought me a new accucel 8 turnigy charger , and some props from aircraft world , got a 7x9 and a 8x9 among with some "normal "sizes , Al might want to look at thease for his pusher jets , look much stronger than apc e props ...i took a look at Neus motor calk program , the 8x8 ive been flying shows amps in the mid 40's and pitch speed of 118 , plug the 7x9 in , amps goes down to mid 30's pitch speed goes up to 130's ....too bad its windy here now.....
TbigD is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 10:14 PM
  #10014  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by TbigD View Post
Kinda like Christmas here today , santa (mailman) brought me a new accucel 8 turnigy charger , and some props from aircraft world , got a 7x9 and a 8x9 among with some "normal "sizes , Al might want to look at thease for his pusher jets , look much stronger than apc e props ...i took a look at Neus motor calk program , the 8x8 ive been flying shows amps in the mid 40's and pitch speed of 118 , plug the 7x9 in , amps goes down to mid 30's pitch speed goes up to 130's ....too bad its windy here now.....
130mph.... That's the way to use a calc.... now throw another cell on it and see if you can push 160+... LOL

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 10:37 PM
  #10015  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
Hey Chong, Post a picture of the 1100watts here...

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...1&goto=newpost

SK
These guys are hitting 2-3kw!

I'll probably have to wait until my Turnigy Watt-meter comes in. They may not believe the read-out on my home made Habor Freight Ghetto-watt meter... even though I think it may be more accurate compared to some of those mass produced ones

HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 10:51 PM
  #10016  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by HobbyCity_PwnsME View Post
These guys are hitting 2-3kw!

I'll probably have to wait until my Turnigy Watt-meter comes in. They may not believe the read-out on my home made Habor Freight Ghetto-watt meter... even though I think it may be more accurate compared to some of those mass produced ones

LOL, I like your getto Wattmeter...LOL

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 11:00 PM
  #10017  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
LOL, I like your getto Wattmeter...LOL

SK
Interested in maidening a 54" CMP Spitfire this weekend. Beefed up them retracts for IE.
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 11:02 PM
  #10018  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

sounds good...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 11:04 PM
  #10019  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Hey Ray, How ya coming on that cermark cosmos?

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 12:17 AM
  #10020  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Lucin has a thread on rcg on the scoripion inrunners , looks to be a lot of intrust , i plugged some numbers on neu's calc program , the 6 cell numbers look very good , hk has some 6 cell 1800 40 c batts for around 30.00 ............. hmmmmmmmm
TbigD is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 12:49 AM
  #10021  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Hey Steve or Ray,

Have you guys measured the amp draw for the HXT900s? I was concerned since the P 38 has 7 of them. Did a quick test and I came up with varying numbers, anywhere from 400-650 mah each (applying resistance with my fingers.. etc).

I have a UBEC on it that provides 4amps but I'm thinking of switching it up to the 7amp UBEC.

Reason I ask is it seemed rather high and I thought my meter needed to be calibrated.
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 12:50 AM
  #10022  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by TbigD View Post
Lucin has a thread on rcg on the scoripion inrunners , looks to be a lot of intrust , i plugged some numbers on neu's calc program , the 6 cell numbers look very good , hk has some 6 cell 1800 40 c batts for around 30.00 ............. hmmmmmmmm
Dennis.. you're going calc crazy...!

HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 01:03 AM
  #10023  
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,380
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
Hey Ray, How ya coming on that cermark cosmos?

SK
Lookin good, using the same powertrain as my Mini Kaos should give comparable speed and power (Drive calc shows---approx 20oz torque and 60-65mph @ 200W).....although the Cosmos wing LE is a mite thicker so speed MAY BE down a hair in trade for more lift (more lift = more drag).
Boy they sure don't give a guy much room in the fuse to stick the radio gear LOL
With all the wing area this plane has, it should be very friendly and maneuverable

if run times are close then my 7min timer for the Kaos should be good......using about 60% of capacity.
Wrench66 is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 01:15 AM
  #10024  
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,380
Smile

Originally Posted by HobbyCity_PwnsME View Post
Hey Steve or Ray,

Have you guys measured the amp draw for the HXT900s? I was concerned since the P 38 has 7 of them. Did a quick test and I came up with varying numbers, anywhere from 400-650 mah each (applying resistance with my fingers.. etc).

I have a UBEC on it that provides 4amps but I'm thinking of switching it up to the 7amp UBEC.

Reason I ask is it seemed rather high and I thought my meter needed to be calibrated.
Hi Chong, looks like the "Ghetto Meter" is real close! LOL....I just ran the same test with my Watts Up meter and got a reading of 630mah stalled. That's approx 4.5a for 7 servos STALLED......seems REALLY impossible that you could make all 7 servos do that all at once...haha.
As an example, since I don't work my servos 100% all the time (ALA 3D etc) I run 4 servos off 2 amp BEC's all the time with little to zero issue......it's all how you set your controls up IE: don't stall them...LOL.



EDIT......Forgot to add.....for all those who are reading these tests, please realize I just tested a $3 HXT900 blue servo by installing the control horn and holding the servo in my hand in a stalled state while deflecting the TX stick for 30 sec. Seems the "cheapie" servos are pretty strong these days!! haha
Wrench66 is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 01:21 AM
  #10025  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by Wrench66 View Post
Hi Chong, looks like the "Ghetto Meter" is real close! LOL....I just ran the same test with my Watts Up meter and got a reading of 630mah stalled. That's approx 4.5a for 7 servos STALLED......seems REALLY impossible that you could make all 7 servos do that all at once...haha.
As an example, since I don't work my servos 100% all the time (ALA 3D etc) I run 4 servos off 2 amp BEC's all the time with little to zero issue......it's all how you set your controls up IE: don't stall them...LOL.


Cool! I guess i can start selling my ghettowatt meters and give HK a run for their money! (LOL)

Thanks, I guess I'll keep the ubec I have in there.. I doubt all 7 will stall like you said.. plus I'm still running everything on 3 cells so I don't think it'll have any issues supplying voltage to the rx. I just didn't think they would draw THAT much even under max load! But that explains why they have so much torque!

Of course you probably don't sweat Spektrum brown outs do you??

Are going to see the Cosmos this weekend?
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  

Quick Reply: The Chino Renegades RC Fliers Club


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.15327 seconds with 13 queries