AirField RC warbirds? - Page 8 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

AirField RC warbirds?

Old 12-29-2011, 06:03 PM
  #176  
Greg74Mayer
Member
 
Greg74Mayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Limerick, Pennsylvania
Posts: 45
Default Airfield 800MM prop solution

Hey everyone...this is regarding the "impossible" prop to find for the t-28...unless you don't mind ordering from Hong Kong and waiting for a month. I just picked up an 800mm Airfield T-28 because I needed a smaller plane to fly locally. I have read horror stories about how easily the props break and the everlasting backorder at NP. I have yet to fly her (crappy weather), but I needed to find a solution before I knocked the prop off and ended up S.O.L. I was reading some posts on here and people had some McGyver setup...put on a 3mm washer, 3 nuts,a paper clip, and piece of gum. Well a silly stuff aside I used a 3mm prop adapter/spinner I had laying around from a exceed motor and an APC 5x7-E prop. I cut a 1/4 inch off of the prop shaft and it is good to go. I will be ordering another stock motor for 9 bucks on Hobbypartz so I can use the stock props if they come in.

If this helps even one person it was worth typing this long winded post.

Happy Flying!!!
Greg74Mayer is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 02:15 AM
  #177  
Brick
small Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marina Village, NC
Posts: 265
Default

i saw where a guy used a 800mm P-40 nose cone & prop. fit right on the T-28. didn't look that bad with a nose cone...
Brick is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 06:12 PM
  #178  
Greg74Mayer
Member
 
Greg74Mayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Limerick, Pennsylvania
Posts: 45
Default

Originally Posted by Brick View Post
i saw where a guy used a 800mm P-40 nose cone & prop. fit right on the T-28. didn't look that bad with a nose cone...
I checked that out...that is a great idea. The props and spinners are avalible...at least they were last night

I have a 370 size Exceed Alpha (1080kv) motor and a 300 size Exceed Alpha (1380kv) motor. I may try running one of them.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	t-28 prop.jpg
Views:	252
Size:	144.7 KB
ID:	156027  

Last edited by Greg74Mayer; 01-02-2012 at 09:49 PM.
Greg74Mayer is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 06:04 PM
  #179  
Andy_L
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ottawa, ONT, Canada
Posts: 17
Default

anyone know of a Canadian supplier of Airfield/FMS planes?? i looked at ordering from NP...plane was $62 plus $117 in shipping

thanks
Andy_L is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 08:31 PM
  #180  
TM4197
Dope&Fabric
 
TM4197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia/Delaware
Posts: 1,355
Default

I am probably telling you something you already know, but have you tried the below site? A member on there can probably get you close!

http://www.rccanada.ca/
TM4197 is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 02:17 PM
  #181  
ckankel
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Smith, AL
Posts: 15
Default

SN hobbies in Canada is an FMS dealer
ckankel is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 10:08 AM
  #182  
markstr
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I've been starting to look at the V6 P-51 FMS that RC Castle and PW-RC
have but has anyone noticed, there is a difference in the ESC's here ..
RC has 50A w/ 4A SBEC
PW 65A w/ 5A SBEC
Anyone know what is up with that ?? Pricing is the same on both.
Shipping though, I didn't check on.
markstr is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 03:05 PM
  #183  
ckankel
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Smith, AL
Posts: 15
Default

I think RC Castle and Nitroplanes haven't updated their sites with the latest specs on the V6 Mustang. From what I've seen, the current ones shipping out have the 65a ESC, but its possible some vendors may try and sell off old stock, so I'd check before purchasing. Looks like the trojan has received some upgrades too w/ 2 pilots and a 60a ESC.
ckankel is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 03:21 PM
  #184  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

How have I missed this thread here at Wattflyer? I must confess I've been relying on RCGroups for my Airfield/FMS fix.

Anyways, I've had my 1450mm P-51 in Blue for several months now. Picked it up used. The guy said it was V6, but I doubt it, and I think it had some at least minor accident history, but after some serious inspecting and fiddling, and replacing the 45A ESC in it (Noticed burn marks in the ESC cavity, and found the placard off a 50A ESC in there too...) with a 60A one, and adding flaps, she's an awesome flyer.

More recently, after one of the younger guys in the club came back from the AMA Expo with an 800mm Tempest, which was a rocket with a 3 cell in it, and some guys suggested starting a pylon racing club, I ordered the 800mm P-51. At $62 it's easier to not worry about a mid-air! I'm in the process of repainting it like the full scale Voodoo pylon racer. I'm gonna start a thread on that in a few minutes.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 03:34 PM
  #185  
Gunnar155
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pullman, Washington
Posts: 157
Default

Cool! Can't wait to see the repaint!

Gunnar
Gunnar155 is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 05:39 PM
  #186  
markstr
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Which Brand did you wind up going with on the ESC ??? I'm thinking of doing the same on an older one I have..
markstr is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 08:51 PM
  #187  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

I had an E-Flite 60A one still in the package witing on my other P-51 project.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 10:17 PM
  #188  
FresnoJay
Big foamie lover!
 
FresnoJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 285
Default

On my F6F the one mod I have done is add an external BEC. Have seen some having issues with the stock ESC built in BEC not being up to the task. Running a separate BEC seems to fix the issue. So as a pecaution I have added one to mine. Irrigardless of the ESC size I would recommend doing this as well.

As a side note I now also have a 63" SEA camo Sandy enroute my way. Not sure if its a re-branded FMS plane but it will get the same treatment. Just to be safe.

Jason
FresnoJay is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 11:51 PM
  #189  
Big Johnny
Master Of The Crash
 
Big Johnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vass, North Carolina
Posts: 955
Default

I always hear people screaming about Nitroplanes Customer Service. I have had nothing but excellent service from them. I bought a RTF Cessna and the Motor was locked up from Jump Street. I had a new motor in less week and they told me to keep the old one.
Big Johnny is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 04:29 AM
  #190  
nz builder
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Default

I was thinking about a gyro mod for my 800mm Spitfire, looking at 3 axis gyros. I figure that it will me to fly this plane less than perfect weather and reduce tip stalls at lower speeds. Has anyone tried this? let me know how it went. Im also going to fit it with retracts (gws micro).
nz builder is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 12:17 PM
  #191  
dditch66
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Last day for 20% off
Nitroplanes Coupon codes

I've done gyros but not with my airfield. When done right, it makes a big difference
Gyro on an RC Airplane How To.
dditch66 is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 03:10 AM
  #192  
nz builder
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Default

Thanks for the link dditch, do have any recommendations on an affordable 3 axis gyro.
nz builder is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 04:50 PM
  #193  
raido56
Not nuts I'm Plane crazy
 
raido56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phila
Posts: 135
Default

Hi All, Went to the WRAM show in N.Y. last weekend on Sat with my buddy. We were at the Nitro Planes display and we both picked up one of the FMS 1400mm T-28's. He got the silver Air Force Huff & Puff and I got the orange & white Navy one. The nice thing was they were both the V2 version with the 65 amp ESC. We got them both for a real good price. A bit less then they had them marked for sale at the show . I was told that by the end of Sat. show Nitro Planes was sold out of just about all of the planes they had. The new WRAM show was better than the years before and we will be going back again next year for sure. All I can say we both like the T-28's we got. They both fly great and for the price can't be beat in my book. We both put a 2.5 wheel on the nose gear as we fly off grass. I have about 15 flights my T-28 on both 4s & 5s packs and have not yet used the flaps to take off or land. I myself see no need for them as she takes off and lands so easy. Here are a few pic's of them at the club a few days ago.

Keep em flying
raido56/ Herb
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	T-28-1.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	229.9 KB
ID:	157897   Click image for larger version

Name:	T-28-2.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	347.9 KB
ID:	157898   Click image for larger version

Name:	T-28-3.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	273.3 KB
ID:	157899   Click image for larger version

Name:	T-28-4.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	324.5 KB
ID:	157900  
raido56 is offline  
Old 03-06-2012, 03:55 AM
  #194  
Jason S-9
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Its nice to see that they put out V2's, it means they really look to improve there line up. I can't wait for the Zero V2 (Tan color)
Jason S-9 is offline  
Old 03-08-2012, 11:45 AM
  #195  
nz builder
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Default

Would it be ok to put some Turnigy 4.5 gram servos in the wings for the ailerons for saving weight? Ive got a gyro on the aileron axis adding a small amout of weight.
nz builder is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 05:02 AM
  #196  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

I just traded and received a Corsair that had never been flown yet and there was no manual. Nitroplanes has no help in getting one I put my futaba r617fs reciever in it and the esc started to play music to me. I need to find out the set up for the esc and what throws and such work the best. The TX I am using is a 6EX and it has been a long time since I tried to program it. Any help or info appreciated.
larry
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 05:04 AM
  #197  
Gofer303
Member
 
Gofer303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glenwood IA
Posts: 282
Default

It is the 1430 mm one.
Gofer303 is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 01:42 PM
  #198  
mumblinaviator
R/C Work and Play
 
mumblinaviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Patuxent River, MD
Posts: 380
Default

B-25 "Panchito" turned Navy PBJ-1 "Pacific Princess"

Just wanted to share my Airfield with you all. I have a build/paint thread here if you're more interested. Had a lot of fun airbrushing it, and no one would ever guess it started life as an ARF.







mumblinaviator is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:57 AM
  #199  
USMC_VTOL_Mech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale Ca
Posts: 187
Default

I got a few of these myself. great flyers for what they are. I still have the hellcat and the p-38 in the boxes
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0184.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	97.2 KB
ID:	160397   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0185.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	91.1 KB
ID:	160398   Click image for larger version

Name:	BEAR_CAT004.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	160399   Click image for larger version

Name:	BEAR_CAT006.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	160400   Click image for larger version

Name:	thumb-IMG_0177.JPG
Views:	123
Size:	3.8 KB
ID:	160401  

Click image for larger version

Name:	thumb-IMG_0241.JPG
Views:	119
Size:	2.9 KB
ID:	160402  
USMC_VTOL_Mech is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 09:16 PM
  #200  
crxmanpat
Community Moderator
 
crxmanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 6,865
Default

Gary,

I've got that same Corsair, but have not flown it yet.

With that said, does anyone have a spare Corsair retract they'd be willing to part with? I have a bad one, but don't feel like buying a whole set (which are always out of stock anyway).

Or alternately, I could use a retract from any 1400mm Airfield warbird as really it's only one of the contacts on the PC board that's broken off. I could take one from a good retract and just swap it out.
crxmanpat is offline  

Quick Reply: AirField RC warbirds?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11132 seconds with 24 queries