Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2018, 07:28 PM   #1
Jack_K
Member
 
Jack_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 39
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Club: Texas Wings Flying Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default GT 150A Power Meter doesn't work

I bought one of these power meters on eBay. It doesn't display any watts when I connect it between the battery and the ESC. Of course the ESC is connected to the motor. It only displays the voltage.


I have the battery connected to the source leads and the ESC to the load leads. I have even tried swapping the source and load leads with adapters, but both methods display voltage and no current.


Am I doing something wrong?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Power Meter.jpg (79.8 KB, 42 views)
Jack_K is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 09:54 PM   #2
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,395
View Panther's Gallery10
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Club: Lockyer Valley Aeromodellers can be found on Facebook.
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

You are loading it with a motor I take it? You only mention connecting a ESC, no mention of motor. An ESC won't display watts by itself.
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 10:06 PM   #3
Jack_K
Member
 
Jack_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 39
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Club: Texas Wings Flying Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by Panther View Post
You are loading it with a motor I take it? You only mention connecting a ESC, no mention of motor. An ESC won't display watts by itself.

Yes, the ESC is connected to the motor.
Jack_K is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 06:00 AM   #4
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,395
View Panther's Gallery10
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Club: Lockyer Valley Aeromodellers can be found on Facebook.
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Well it sounds like you are doing it correctly. Maybe a photo of it all hooked up?
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 12:58 PM   #5
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,120
Thanked 626 Times in 590 Posts
Awards Showcase

125mph Speed Demon  5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (10)
Default

Maybe a stupid question.. You did actually power up and run the motor with a prop on to give some load?

Obviously if the motor was sitting idle it wouldn't draw any current thus would not record any Watts.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 03:55 PM   #6
Jack_K
Member
 
Jack_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 39
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Club: Texas Wings Flying Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
Maybe a stupid question.. You did actually power up and run the motor with a prop on to give some load?

Obviously if the motor was sitting idle it wouldn't draw any current thus would not record any Watts.

OK. I'll elaborate.
The motor is in the airplane and has a 12x6e prop on. The motor is wired to the ESC, the ESC is connected to the power meter, and the pm is connected to the battery.


I turned the transmitter on and verified it was set for the correct plane. I THEN connected the battery to the pm. I advanced the throttle to full and the motor (and prop) spun up. I held it for about 8 seconds, throttled to idle, and back to full throttle. The pm had only displayed voltage the entire time.


Then I made some adapters and tried it with reversed connections and it did the same thing.

I hope that is clear enough for everyone.


Respectfully,
Jack
Jack_K is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 08:50 PM   #7
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,120
Thanked 626 Times in 590 Posts
Awards Showcase

125mph Speed Demon  5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (10)
Default

Thanks for confirming, it sounds like a faulty watt meter as it’s not reading Amps
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Everything You Wanted To Know About Electric Powered Flight AEAJR Beginners 165 06-28-2017 04:22 PM
Everything You Wanted To Know About Electric Powered Flight AEAJR General Electric Discussions 273 01-09-2017 02:23 AM
Measuring Brushless Motor Resistance (Two Digital Meter Method) kyleservicetech Brushless Motor Construction 47 01-22-2016 08:27 PM
MPJA Power Supply kyleservicetech Batteries & Chargers 0 02-15-2011 02:02 PM
Power/Electric Savers, they work Great CHELLIE Off Topic Chit Chat 33 01-27-2011 01:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.12888 seconds with 34 queries