Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

What kind of battery connector is this?

Old 07-02-2013, 02:06 AM
Dspanky1505

Default What kind of battery connector is this?

Hey all,
I'm trying to get back into the hobby, and all of my batteries are too weak, so I need to buy some new ones. I was a newbie years ago when I started, therefore I am still a newbie, so my terminology is a little elementary. I was hoping you guys could fill me in on what kind of battery connector this is so that I know what kind of battery to get. I know that it is a 7 cell nicad battery, but that is about all that i know. Thanks in advance!
Old 07-02-2013, 02:06 AM
Dspanky1505

Old 07-02-2013, 02:37 AM
hayofstacks
Super Contributor

let the nicads go. time for an upgrade.
Old 07-02-2013, 02:48 AM
Dspanky1505

Originally Posted by hayofstacks View Post
let the nicads go. time for an upgrade.
Thought about it, but seeing as it is a trainer, it probably wouldn't be worth the money for lipo's and a new motor. But then again, I haven't priced them in a while. Someday when it is time for a new plane, yes. But for now being a neighborhood flyer/crashed....nicads are getting the job done.
Old 07-02-2013, 02:54 AM
hayofstacks
Super Contributor

$5-10 for a similar priced lipo, 2-3 times the flight time, about 5 times the power. if your old.batteries.are toast, now is the time.
Old 07-02-2013, 02:59 AM
hayofstacks
Super Contributor

use the lipo with existing motor and esc. just need to be careful of low voltage cut off.
Old 07-02-2013, 03:07 AM
Dspanky1505

use the lipo with existing motor and esc. just need to be careful of low voltage cut off.
That would be compatable, eh? Always thought it was a no-no. What do you mean by the cut off?
Old 07-02-2013, 03:11 AM
firemanbill
Community Moderator

To answer the original question, that is a Mini Tamiya connector
Old 07-02-2013, 03:19 AM
Dspanky1505