Error on page - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Support & Suggestions If you need tech support post your question here or site suggestions too.

Error on page

Old 02-27-2008, 03:06 PM
  #1  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default Error on page

I have noticed that ~in the last week or so~ I have been getting the error message on the lower left corner of the screen. It only happens here on WF....am I missing something?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	wfe.JPG
Views:	156
Size:	144.5 KB
ID:	57673  
aviatordave is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 03:36 PM
  #2  
PerlAddict
Community Moderator
 
PerlAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 1,818
Default

Discussed somewhat in passing in this thread: http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30956

They're Javascript errors. I get them in relation to a few things here. The one I'm currently seeing the most often is an undefined variable, which Mike said is in regards to the HighSlide thumbnail viewer script.
PerlAddict is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 03:40 PM
  #3  
Sentertainment
Hobbyist/Web Developer
 
Sentertainment's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 256
Default

*cough* Of course I offered my help to WF before, wasn't aknowledged much. *cough*

(I know cross-browser scripting really well, I made a page using AJAX & JS to perform everything and it has worked in every mainstream browser, even Opera which I hadn't even tested it for at the time)
Sentertainment is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:02 PM
  #4  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

ahh...

I dont get to the basement much, its already been brought up I see.
aviatordave is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:03 PM
  #5  
PerlAddict
Community Moderator
 
PerlAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 1,818
Default

I'm sure Mike will get it sorted out in time. There are probably dozens of us that have offered to lend a hand as different things crop up, but that's why there's an administrative team in place. I'd imagine it would be a quagmire if they gave everyone who could be of help the actual editing authority to do so.

I visited your page, Shawn ... took about 30 seconds for all of the ad information pre-loading to finish, not to mention the pre-loading (and subsequent storing in the temporary internet folder) of over 30 pictures from trashpretty.com (some of them pretty vulgar and obscene). Very unprofessional - you really need to keep up with what the ad sources you embed are doing to folks who view the page. I don't need trash like taking up space on my computer, and I certainly don't want it in my temporary docs file at the office. Not to mention that keeping the page open continued to slow down IE considerably, as well.

Last edited by PerlAddict; 02-27-2008 at 04:21 PM.
PerlAddict is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:28 PM
  #6  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

My workplace has a filter .....cant see it

Your organization's Internet use policy restricts access to this web page at this time.

Reason:
The Websense category "Adult Content" is filtered.
aviatordave is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:53 PM
  #7  
PerlAddict
Community Moderator
 
PerlAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 1,818
Default

Yeah, it's because of all the crap it downloads in the background. You don't actually see any of it on the page ... just saves the pics in your temporary internet files folder. Trust me, you're not missing anything.
PerlAddict is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 05:23 PM
  #8  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Originally Posted by aviatordave View Post
I have noticed that ~in the last week or so~ I have been getting the error message on the lower left corner of the screen. It only happens here on WF....am I missing something?

I thought it was just mine but I checked it on both computers at home and my work computer and all of them give me the error message. I don't envy Mike's job, even if he does make millions doing it.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 08:55 PM
  #9  
PerlAddict
Community Moderator
 
PerlAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 1,818
Default

I heard he's negotiating for 1.6 billion next year. Net.
PerlAddict is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:01 PM
  #10  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Originally Posted by PerlAddict View Post
I heard he's negotiating for 1.6 billion next year. Net.

I don't think he'd take the cut in pay.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 10:52 PM
  #11  
PerlAddict
Community Moderator
 
PerlAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 1,818
Default

Touché.
PerlAddict is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:47 PM
  #12  
Sentertainment
Hobbyist/Web Developer
 
Sentertainment's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 256
Default

Originally Posted by PerlAddict View Post
I visited your page, Shawn ... took about 30 seconds for all of the ad information pre-loading to finish...
I'll look into that, I hadn't had problems like that in the past.
I've been considering getting rid of them anyways.

Also, one link was dead...if you want to see my last project I never finished:
http://www.sentertainment.net/new3/

That is my prized project that never got finished, has live feeds, instant messaging right on the site, and more.
Sentertainment is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 08:41 PM
  #13  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

Originally Posted by PerlAddict View Post
I heard he's negotiating for 1.6 billion next year. Net.
Originally Posted by Grasshopper View Post
I thought it was just mine but I checked it on both computers at home and my work computer and all of them give me the error message. I don't envy Mike's job, even if he does make millions doing it.
Originally Posted by Grasshopper View Post
I don't think he'd take the cut in pay.
LOL. You guys are funny I wish. Most forget..I volunteer for this abuse
Mike Parsons is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 08:45 PM
  #14  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

Originally Posted by PerlAddict View Post
I'd imagine it would be a quagmire if they gave everyone who could be of help the actual editing authority to do so.
Exactly. However, the offers are appreciated.

Ill get it sorted out as it is just a matter of clearing the block of time to dig into the code. Right now it isn't service effecting for the site, unless you have error reporting turned on and that can be annoying. Ill get it ironed out soon.
Mike Parsons is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
HeliG
Support & Suggestions
13
09-04-2008 03:54 PM
rea59
Support & Suggestions
22
04-20-2008 04:10 PM
diverdon
Support & Suggestions
8
04-17-2008 06:37 PM
firemanbill
Off Topic Chit Chat
3
09-07-2007 04:50 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Error on page


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.12681 seconds with 15 queries