Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

Hangar 9 Corsair

Old 04-04-2011, 12:53 AM
  #76  
hemlock
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Default flap mod

Originally Posted by hemlock View Post
Please - anybody have any good flap mods? I cannot get the one "The Bandit" posted. can't get the inboard flap to move the mid flap...

Here is The Bandits post http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...+corsair+flaps
hemlock is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 04:44 AM
  #77  
dawhale
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default E-flite 60 Motor Mount

I am going to install an E-flite 60 in my Hangar 9 Corsair. It looks like I need to mount 1 1/2" off the firewall. I am having trouble trying to find one that will adjust this close. What motor mount did you guys use?

dawhale is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 06:24 AM
  #78  
UGLYPUG
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FLA
Posts: 50
Default Motor mounts

Originally Posted by dawhale View Post
I am going to install an E-flite 60 in my Hangar 9 Corsair. It looks like I need to mount 1 1/2" off the firewall. I am having trouble trying to find one that will adjust this close. What motor mount did you guys use?

I made mine. I used 4 threaded rods the length needed for the distance off the firewall, sized to fit through the motor mount, and some blind nuts on the fire wall, and the rods fit through the motor mount, and some spacers on the rods and nuts as needed. I made a stand off motor mount like this for all my planes. Quick and easy to pick up all the parts at Ace Hardware.
UGLYPUG is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 12:37 PM
  #79  
CorsairJock
Member
Thread Starter
 
CorsairJock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parchment, MI
Posts: 201
Default

Likewise: I fabricated mine from plywood, basically added an extension to the firewall.
Hobby Lobby used to sell (maybe they still do?) a pretty good motor mount for motors this size, I am using one in my Top Flite Mustang. I think it's called something like AM500? I'll try to find it and post a link.
CorsairJock is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 01:09 PM
  #80  
CorsairJock
Member
Thread Starter
 
CorsairJock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parchment, MI
Posts: 201
Default

Here's the one I used on my Mustang:
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/aluminum_..._1365_prd1.htm

But as you suggest: it is probably TOO long. You could drill new holes in it (the part that mounts to the firwall) and shorten the 'legs'. I did that on my Me-108 come to think of it.
CorsairJock is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:07 PM
  #81  
70sflyer
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atkins Iowa
Posts: 104
Default

I thought the Hobby-lobby was not strong enough so for my AXi4130/20 so I went with the firewall style mount from R/C dude hobbies.It looks stronger and many holes for alot of different configerations.Good luck.Dean
70sflyer is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:11 PM
  #82  
CorsairJock
Member
Thread Starter
 
CorsairJock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parchment, MI
Posts: 201
Default

Originally Posted by 70sflyer View Post
I thought the Hobby-lobby was not strong enough so for my AXi4130/20 so I went with the firewall style mount from R/C dude hobbies.It looks stronger and many holes for alot of different configerations.Good luck.Dean
That is exactly the same motor I am using on my Mustang, with the Hobby Lobby mount: no problems.
CorsairJock is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 08:47 PM
  #83  
UGLYPUG
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FLA
Posts: 50
Default Motor mounts

NOW you see why I make my own,, quick,, no waiting for an order, just pick up parts at ACE hardware or home depot etc,, cut to size very easily, and easy to adjust for thrust line. I just made one for a .10 size foamy mustang and did not need spacers, just extra nuts tightened against the fire wall and motor x-mount that comes with the motor,, easy to adjust the thrust line,, lots of good ideas on here from everyone
UGLYPUG is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 03:03 AM
  #84  
dawhale
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

UGLYPUG, any chance you could post a picture of your home made motor mounts?
dawhale is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 06:08 AM
  #85  
UGLYPUG
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FLA
Posts: 50
Default

I'll try to add some pics,,, it keeps failing,,, files too big or something... I put a picture on this website,, check there,,,, You can also see where I have started using Velcro to hold the cowling on,, It holds very well, and you don't have to drill holes in the cowling, and it is easy to adjust to center on the motor in case you have to adjust the thrust line on the motor,, I left the mounting blocks from the old cowling that had holes in it, when I had a Saito 100 on this thing. BTW, anyone ever tried using 8 lipos on a power 60 ? I don't think it will handle 8 cells.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_81...m.htm#10800316

Last edited by UGLYPUG; 11-08-2011 at 10:09 PM. Reason: add pics& SPELLING
UGLYPUG is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bert269
Scale E-Powered Aircraft
1
11-01-2010 10:51 PM
boomerace
ParkFlyers
9
06-14-2008 12:16 AM
Angler-Hi
Warbird Electrics
5
05-26-2008 01:25 PM
RSS Feed
RCU RSS Feed
0
10-22-2006 03:40 AM
Doppelganger
Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB
0
08-07-2006 12:39 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Hangar 9 Corsair


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09516 seconds with 13 queries