Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Basic repairs - j-3 ultra micro cub

Old 06-13-2011, 01:57 PM
RONALDO_UK

Default Basic repairs - j-3 ultra micro cub

Hi - I'm brand new to RC planes and have left it late in life. I haven't spotted any info yet on VERY basic repairs. I bought a J-3 Cub ultra micro and in just a couple of weeks, it's needing some work. The long wire linkage from control surface has come out of the sleeve (not sure how) and the short length is still attached to servo. Are these wires simply a push-fit thru sleeve and just pushed/pulled to adjust overall length?? I've also got to replace tail-section. Will this be marked for the horn position or do I make a cut? myself? Is its retainer just pushed on or glued and/ or taped? Do I bend the plastic horn to hook in the wire or hook it in and then get wire into the sleeve? Sorry these questions are incredibly basic but I can only get spares by mail order - it takes time and they're fairly expensive so I don't want to abuse/break anything. If anyone can answer or direct me to appropriate thread(s), I'd be grateful. Or even suggest a good beginner's book that covers these topics and more.
Old 06-14-2011, 07:10 AM
ronhawker

Default Cub repair

Originally Posted by RONALDO_UK View Post