Hand launch or Rolling Take off? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Hand launch or Rolling Take off?

Old 07-29-2009, 11:25 PM
eric.huntley

Default Hand launch or Rolling Take off?

I've heard more than once that beginners should hand launch their planes, instead of performing a rolling take off. Any opinions on this?

I'm a beginner, and have only one flight so far. It was hand launched, but I would like to try a real rolling take off sometime soon.
Old 07-29-2009, 11:31 PM
skiman762
FFFC

If the hand launch went well stick with it for now get some time and then try the ground take off.
Old 07-29-2009, 11:33 PM
Octavius
Alien Surfer

Yes and no. Less skill is needed sometimes for hand launch. However the distance to the ground is about 5 feet +/- a little, and the distance from the ground to the ground is zero feet. Back in the day of heavier planes a nose-in from hand launch was more than enough to destroy a plane.
Old 07-29-2009, 11:33 PM
Danelaw

Ive never done a rolling take off due to the fact i have no wheels. I would have thought lots of runway so you can trim up as you build speed slowly, rather than launch , splat! Not trimmed up right. It's what i would do. Prob going to buy a supercub and use an airfield that belongs to a farmer i know.
Old 07-29-2009, 11:36 PM
Octavius
Alien Surfer

Originally Posted by Danelaw View Post
Ive never done a rolling take off due to the fact i have no wheels.
At one time in my life I thought no wheels meant no ground take off. I've seen several forum members prove that wrong.
Old 07-30-2009, 12:43 AM
blueapplepaste

I've only ever ROG. Granted I started with .40 glow trainer, so you can't really hand launch that. But even with my SS and other park flyers, I've always ROG. And when I've been teaching my g/f to fly, I've always ROG.