Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

That bane called interference

Old 12-08-2011, 04:13 AM
MJtheSOLID
Ruler of Omicron Persei 8

Question That bane called interference

I've been flying for about 6 months or so, and have become pretty engulfed in the hobby. I build my own planes now (see below) and invested in a self-built foam cutter. I also invested in what i believed would be a good Tx/Rx setup. The DX6i is an excellent system, and until recently has been nothing short of outstanding. However, our usual field (local civic center hot-air balloon field) has been full of problems. During range testing, the Rx looses signal before the 90ft mark. At full power, we can no longer get a reliable signal at the far end of the field, which is no more than 250 yards. This was never an issue before. I've flown there dozens of times with no problems. This was brought to my attention after 2 back-to-back crashes during the landing approach. Other fields still work ok, but are either to far to constantly drive to or are too small to really fly in.

Ive looked into boosters, but I'm not sure if i want to cut up my Tx on a maybe. Any other ideas i should try first? I am pretty sure it is interference from some source, and i'm not 100% sure the booster will overcome it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	805E.tmp.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	155383   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0121.jpg
Views:	193
Size:	97.6 KB
ID:	155384   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0255.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	135.7 KB
ID:	155385  
Old 12-08-2011, 04:36 AM
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

While I couldn't really help in the technicalities of the problem, I certainly wouldn't go with a booster just yet, without ruling out problems in the xmttr or rcvr.

You could help everyone sort this out by letting them know what kind of rcvr you're using.

Looking at your pics, the wiring runs could be an issue.