Biggest ELECTRIC model aircraft motor ?? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Biggest ELECTRIC model aircraft motor ??

Old 04-01-2008, 11:05 PM
floridawen

Question Biggest ELECTRIC model aircraft motor ??

I have seen some big "gas" engines, like converted weedwhacker engines, but I am brand new to RC electric aircraft and I am VERY curious as to what is the largest, biggest ELECTRIC MOTOR available and used on model aircraft ?? What would it be "equal" to as compared to the thrust and horsepower of a "gas" engine ?? What size prop does it turn and what the heck size batteries are needed to power it ??
Old 04-01-2008, 11:08 PM
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan

it's not rc...

http://www.airventure.org/2007/4wed25/sonex.html

[media]http://www.airventure.org/2007/4wed25/images/sonex_300.jpg[/media]
Old 04-02-2008, 12:19 AM
Laggard
Who's got my six?

Cyclon Big Boss

10000 watts nominal
400 amps (burst)
12000 watts (burst)
81 ounces
$2000
Old 04-02-2008, 11:53 AM
floridawen

Question

Originally Posted by Laggard View Post

Cyclon Big Boss

10000 watts nominal
400 amps (burst)
12000 watts (burst)
81 ounces
$2000
What "size" aircraft would this be used on ?? And it would be "equal" to what size "gas" engine ??
Old 04-02-2008, 12:52 PM
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan

I think the rule of thumb is 150-200 watts per pound for acrobatic planes.

So, 10,000 watts divided by 200, gives you a motor that would pull a 50 pound plane vertical without even straining.

(of course, ten of those pounds would be battery weight.)
Old 04-02-2008, 01:41 PM
floridawen

Question

Originally Posted by FlyingMonkey View Post
I think the rule of thumb is 150-200 watts per pound for acrobatic planes.

So, 10,000 watts divided by 200, gives you a motor that would pull a 50 pound plane vertical without even straining.

(of course, ten of those pounds would be battery weight.)