Beginners - Helis A forum where beginners can get help on the fundamentals for experts who know their stuff!

Heli for a Beginner

Old 06-12-2008, 10:58 PM
chuckaug

Default Heli for a Beginner

I am new to helis and may not be able to locate an instructor until the fall.
I would like to purchase an entry level micro-heli that I could try teaching myself to fly. I have experience with fixed wing aircraft but have never flown a helicoptor.
Any suggestions about a good starter?
Is it true that a dual rotor (counter-rotating) model might be very easy to fly initially but make to transition to single rotor/tail rotor more difficult?
Thanks in advance.
Any help is appreciated.
Chuck
Old 06-12-2008, 11:29 PM
Heli Jim
Grandpa, Golfer, Pilot

I believe that counter rotating helis are a GREAT way to start because they are very
stable and you learn a lot of orientation and basic skills. I started with a CX2 and I still
fly it even though I now have a Blade 400 too.
Old 06-13-2008, 12:05 AM
HeliG
T-Rex Pilot

I agree that a CX2 is a great place to start. BUT, it is true that although you can work on orientation, flying a regular heli with tail rotor is a big, BIG jump from the CX2. A starter heli is going to be one that you can afford (you need to account for parts as well). A eFlite Blade 400 is a nice way to go but that is about $400 plus parts. A eFlite Blade CP Pro is about $200 plus parts. So, you need to figure out what you want to do. Parts is truly a big portion of your costs. I bought a T-rex 450SE V2 and my first parts order was over $200!!!

Consider going with a used heli that has extra parts included. Usually, you will get a good deal because someone has already done the ground work for you. You may find a CP Pro on WattFlyer that could get you going with all you would need for quite some time?!?

There's my 2 cents.
Old 06-13-2008, 09:38 AM
Grimsleeper