RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

New Spektrum Receiver, the AR500

Old 09-02-2008, 01:47 AM
  #1  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 9,379
Default New Spektrum Receiver, the AR500

I just stumbled across this new Spektrum receiver, the AR500. It comes in the new Corsair with the 5 channel transmitter. I called Horizon to find out about since it is AR500 not AR5000. It is a full range, five channel receiver. It can be used in any type plane, not limited to smaller foam models like the limitations on the AR6100.

As you notice, it has a longer antenna on one side and it is also cheaper than the AR6200, if you need a full range receiver, but don't need six channels. It also will be easier to mount, since it does not have the satellite receiver.

I was planning on using an AR6200 in my Solution AP plane build, but now I can save a few bucks and use the AR500.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 01:51 AM
  #2  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

Hey Nice find! I can see that getting a lot of sales!
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 01:55 AM
  #3  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Well, we modelers have wanted a Spektrum 4-ch rx unit, but this is darn close.

Thanks for the heads-up, Jim!
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 02:04 AM
  #4  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

Originally Posted by gfdengine204 View Post
Well, we modelers have wanted a Spektrum 4-ch rx unit, but this is darn close.

Thanks for the heads-up, Jim!
Tell me about it.

I am still yet to use more than 4 of my channels! well a couple of birds I have set up with flaperons using the aucx channel making use of #5 but for the most part... 4 is it!
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 02:07 AM
  #5  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

.....and actually, this is a 4ch rx with a 5th ch for ailerons if you have individual aileron servos for each wing!

I think it's a tad overpriced.....Would have been nice at $49.99......oh well.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 02:13 AM
  #6  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

Overpriced? I don't think so.

Compare it to any "good" 72mhz receiver then add the cost for a crystal and you'll be at the same price or cheaper.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:08 AM
  #7  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
Overpriced? I don't think so.

Compare it to any "good" 72mhz receiver then add the cost for a crystal and you'll be at the same price or cheaper.
I never bought 72MHz gear, so I'll have to take your word for it.

But, just saying, you can get the AR6000 and AR6100 for under $40 at some vendors, and $60 seems a little steeper than I would imagine.......but, I am a cheapskate.....
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:10 AM
  #8  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

That's true but they have been around for a while.

The AR6000's were 69.95 everywhere when they first came out. They will come down in time.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:11 AM
  #9  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
That's true but they have been around for a while.

The AR6000's were 69.95 everywhere when they first came out. They will come down in time.
From your lips to God's ears.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:13 AM
  #10  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

Everything comes down in time... in the electronics world anyway...
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:49 AM
  #11  
fr4nk1yn
^_^
 
fr4nk1yn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default

My 6100es have been performing stellar. I can only stretch my latest planes straight up and have taken then to the limit of my sight a few times.
I don't really see "full range" with the harder to package, My antennae are glued to the sides of the case for protection, and higher cost being a selling point to me.

How many larger models are really "4" channel?
fr4nk1yn is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:53 AM
  #12  
max2112
Super Contributor
 
max2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,550
Default One more reason for DX7

Too bad it's not compatible with the DX-6!
max2112 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:53 AM
  #13  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

How many larger models are really "4" channel?

This one is 80"



and this one 72"



and this one 60"



A lot of big models still only use 4 channels.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:55 AM
  #14  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by max2112 View Post
Too bad it's not compatible with the DX-6!
But it's DX6i compatible......


I'm gonna go hide now so John don't kill me for that.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:57 AM
  #15  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

And again on the park flyer receivers, it's not range that's an issue. It's shadowing. This gets discussed over and over. You can fly a small plane as far as you can see it and then some. Put that same rx in my Waco and it'll crash for sure when I can still see it plainly because the signal will get blocked by the batteries or the motor.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:04 AM
  #16  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

These are the only two 5 channels I have

Ailerons
Elevator
Rudder
Throttle
Retracts

Everything else I have is 4 or less. ........for now.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4331.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	76965   Click image for larger version

Name:	The Jug in flight.jpg
Views:	269
Size:	211.3 KB
ID:	76966  
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:05 AM
  #17  
EpoweredRc
3D Flyer
 
EpoweredRc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: B.N.R in Paulding now In Buchanan,GA
Posts: 2,200
Default

Originally Posted by gfdengine204 View Post
I never bought 72MHz gear, so I'll have to take your word for it.

But, just saying, you can get the AR6000 and AR6100 for under $40 at some vendors, and $60 seems a little steeper than I would imagine.......but, I am a cheapskate.....
if this small 5 channel rx is $60 they can keep it, i mean really how many planes is the 6100 a prop with room? its smaller then any reg 72mhz rx ever was and cheaper I can buy it for $49
the 6200 dual anntenna is for $59

I understand its small and full range but I would not buy one untill I heard some reports, I have never had issues with my rx's untill got a 6100 in trade and it won't range, just sent to Horizen hope to hear back soon about it and hope they get it fixed but not sure I will ever trust it.
EpoweredRc is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:22 AM
  #18  
max2112
Super Contributor
 
max2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,550
Smile I'm more offended by the Cubbie avatar!

Originally Posted by gfdengine204 View Post
But it's DX6i compatible......


I'm gonna go hide now so John don't kill me for that.
No worries, Kev!
I have no problems admitting the only way I could afford the DX6 was because I waited 2 years and bought one used w/ no servos or receivers. Maybe in about 8 or 10 months I'll be able to pick up a used DX7 pretty cheap.
max2112 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:28 AM
  #19  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by max2112 View Post
No worries, Kev!
I have no problems admitting the only way I could afford the DX6 was because I waited 2 years and bought one used w/ no servos or receivers. Maybe in about 8 or 10 months I'll be able to pick up a used DX7 pretty cheap.
Sure, make me feel bad now.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:30 AM
  #20  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

Originally Posted by gfdengine204 View Post
Sure, make me feel bad now.

We don't really need to TRY to make you feel bad... comes natural I would think!
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:31 AM
  #21  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Now how nice was THAT?
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:32 AM
  #22  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
We don't really need to TRY to make you feel bad... comes natural I would think!
He's used to feeling bad. Just look at his avatar.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:36 AM
  #23  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Geez, how did I know YOU would gang up.....musta been a PM from Bill.....

Let's get this back on topic, ok folks?
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:39 AM
  #24  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,619
Default

Topic??? what was the topic??? oh yeah receivers...

Lot's of big planes that are only 4 channel...
firemanbill is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:42 AM
  #25  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

No, the topic is:

New Spektrum Receiver, the AR500
gfdengine204 is offline  

Quick Reply: New Spektrum Receiver, the AR500


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11600 seconds with 15 queries