Night Flying Discuss night time aircraft illumination, methods and equipment.

Watts up with night flyin?

Old 04-10-2011, 03:29 AM
  #1  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default Watts up with night flyin?

Can any one please help me with night flying? I would really like to learn more on how to install LED strips. Can any also recommend and good LED strip brands? Thanks in advance- Alex
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 03:36 AM
  #2  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Hi Alex
Heres an easy, inexpensive and most importantly lite weight solution
http://glowproducts.com/glowsticks/mini/
I use them on my all my aircraft from UM up to parkflyer size
The nice part is i can put them on most aircraft at a moments notice and with a mimimum of fuss
Take care
Yours Hank

Last edited by kenchiroalpha; 04-10-2011 at 03:43 AM. Reason: added name
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 03:41 AM
  #3  
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 7,058
Default

I just moved your post to the night flying section.
Myself I have bought my led strip lights at hobbyking.
Hobbypartz sells them now and it is cheaper to buy them there and you will get them sooner. They have been great so far to do business with
http://www.hobbypartz.com/ledlights.html

I soldered mine up and used a controller for the lights I bought it at a different vendor. I can plug in 3 separate strips of lights, with a 850mah 3 cell battery.
Look through the night flying section and you will learn how different folks have hooked them up, and the planes they are using.

John
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	snowblower 002.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	125.9 KB
ID:	146291   Click image for larger version

Name:	snowblower 005.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	146292  
gramps2361 is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 03:53 AM
  #4  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Hi Alex
Also have some led night flyers as well
Do enjoy
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5bXVCluuW8&feature=player_embedded[/media]
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L61_88bw9BM[/media]
Take care
Yours Hank

Last edited by kenchiroalpha; 08-15-2011 at 02:42 AM.
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 07:31 AM
  #5  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

Wow, very nice! I plan on riging them to the radian.

Is it possible to solder a basic connection of a few light strips to a connector and then just plug a Lipo in? I have also heard something about controlling the brightness with an ESC.
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 12:20 PM
  #6  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Check this out...

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou29Vn8qKtI&hd=1[/media]

and this...

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bw7ZESmDLRw&NR=1[/media]
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 05:15 PM
  #7  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

Ah. So they made a jumper that goes between the battery and ESC. Instead of using the remote switch, can I just connect the hobby king led strips right to the jumper?
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 07:14 PM
  #8  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

What I need is a Tut on how to set up the Light strips. THe only one I've seen after hours of searching that made sense is the FLight test one.
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 07:48 PM
  #9  
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 7,058
Default

Do a search on youtube there are some great ones that show you how to do the soldering and setups. I just goggled soldering led lights and a bunch of stupp popped up there.
John
gramps2361 is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 08:26 PM
  #10  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

Found something! Looks promising.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVBpPjcOkLk[/media]
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 09:59 PM
  #11  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Question

Originally Posted by flyboy_fx View Post
What I need is a Tut on how to set up the Light strips. THe only one I've seen after hours of searching that made sense is the FLight test one.
Hi Alex
Did you read the pdf file i enclosed in my other post?
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...42&postcount=4
Its quite an in depth article on how to set up a nightflyer
Take care
Yours Hank
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 12:41 AM
  #12  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

AH I missed that, will check out later. Thanks!
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 01:10 AM
  #13  
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 7,058
Default

The one you found is the one that helped me out he has a few of them on youtube.
gramps2361 is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 03:32 AM
  #14  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

So will this work? Its just a On off design run of a separate flight pack. About 7 meters of LED strip from hobby king will be in there.\
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 03:39 AM
  #15  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

7 meters? What size plane are you putting this on?

The diagram works for me. If you're going with a larger plane, absolutely use a separate battery. I think I used a 3s500mAh lipo for one of
mine.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 03:40 AM
  #16  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

The radian. 1 meter is 39 inches yes? If so than yea 7 meters for this.
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 04:04 AM
  #17  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Are you going to face the lights into the foam?

the whites especially, will be so bright, you can't look directly at them. (there is no exaggeration here)

What I did with my supercub, was use a straight edge, and the soldering iron, and cut a trench for the lights part to face down into, and then used clear packing tape to hold the light strip in place. Worked great. The plane lit up from the inside. The whole thing glowed.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 04:20 AM
  #18  
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 7,058
Default

That is a whole lot of lights you have going on that plane you will light up the sky with that many.
I have about 3 meters of lights and that is real bright. like the monkey said that will work. Now you have a lot of soldering ahead of you I don't envy that glad that part is over for me.
gramps2361 is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 04:34 AM
  #19  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

Yea there will be white, GREAT Idea!!!!
Should I do that to all the colors or just the bright ones?
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 04:35 AM
  #20  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

Originally Posted by gramps2161 View Post
That is a whole lot of lights you have going on that plane you will light up the sky with that many.
I have about 3 meters of lights and that is real bright. like the monkey said that will work. Now you have a lot of soldering ahead of you I don't envy that glad that part is over for me.

So should I cut back to like 5-6m?
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 06:52 PM
  #21  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

I test flew it with the stock battery and a 3oz battery for the lights, flew great! I'm sure it can handle another 3-4 oz in wiring.
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 07:28 PM
  #22  
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 7,058
Default

I would have used more lights myself the plane I am doing up is covered so it limits me some. So use as many as you like sounds like the plane will handle that extra wgt. no problem.
gramps2361 is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 07:43 PM
  #23  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

I Should so make them into a circle and than start the "UFO" Sightings. LOL
This will be a new experience for me with RC!! Can't wait!!!!!
flyboy_fx is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 08:03 PM
  #24  
texasclouds
Super Contributor
 
texasclouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,375
Default

Big Bee night flier:

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOK0quntFt0[/media]
texasclouds is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 10:11 PM
  #25  
flyboy_fx
Member
Thread Starter
 
flyboy_fx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The carolinas!
Posts: 193
Default

So what wire should I solder it all together with? The video said 26 AWG. What else do look for, copper wire, ect? I'm a newb at electrics.
flyboy_fx is offline  

Quick Reply: Watts up with night flyin?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.19478 seconds with 15 queries