Hi-Performance and Sailplanes RC hotliners, electric pylon racers, F5B, F5D, sailplanes and gliders

First sailplane?

Old 07-23-2011, 11:24 PM
earthsciteach

Default First sailplane?

Sailplanes are very alluring. I think that will be my next venture in RC. I've read a lot of positive things about the Radian but mixed reviews of the Radian Pro. Then there is the HK Fox, Multiplex Easy Glider and on and on...

I feel I am a competent pilot. I'd like a plane that can grow with my sailplane experience, but not so "advanced" that I am in over my head. Can y'all give me some advice on a sailplane that may meet my wants?

Thanks!
Old 07-23-2011, 11:40 PM
Rockin Robbins
Super Contributor

With sailplanes you develop a different, more strategic type of flying skill. I'd recommend a Radian or a Radian Pro if you insist on needing six channels to feel like you're really flying. I assure you the Radian will teach you just as much and be as fun to fly as the Pro. You can't really go wrong either way.

Of course if you want a REAL challenge there's a couple of guys around here who will steer you to a DLG, the ultimate in pure flying.

Danger: sailplanes may be habit forming.
Old 07-23-2011, 11:41 PM
earthsciteach

Is a DLG one of those you launch discuss style? That is so cool!
Old 07-23-2011, 11:57 PM
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher

I bought a ST models Blaze, purely thinking about increasing my "need for speed' and I discovered a couple things, it takes forever, I do mean forever to land. Great little glider that one flight took me almost 4 mins to land, 5 approaches and 4 aborts.
Also it has the power to do all kinds of aerobatic type flying and straight up at 2/3 throttle. It makes me look like a better pilot than I am. It has totally turned my thinking about just going fast. It very tough and very well built, couple of little probs in my other thread, but very satisfying a/c. Comes with everything installed, just add rx, batt and tx.

have a good one
cr