3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

Harriers

Old 10-01-2016, 01:08 AM
Vic Z

Default Harriers

I am totally new to 3D, or post stall flight if you will and have a harrier question.
I have an Eflite Sukhoi and am learning to harrier. I started way up high and am now down to about 20'. I understand that wing rock is part of the game for smaller planes. The Sukhoi does it, and it is just back and forth. Doesn't try to wing drop or stall.
Is there anything that I should be doing to minimize it, or should I be trying to fight it or compensate?

Thank you,
Vic
Old 10-01-2016, 03:54 AM
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance

Happy to hear the rudder is now being incorporated more in your flights........still using the SAFE technology....?

If you're performing up-right "high-alpha" harriers, and circle gliding.....wing flutter/rock, even with a +40" wingspan foamy, should not be much of an issue if aileron/rudder mix is in harmony (and you're not fighting any wind).........if the plane is balanced well, throttle management will pull the craft out of a rock if one is not over compensating/jerking the rudder to catch up with the aileron......

Last edited by pizzano; 10-01-2016 at 04:10 AM.
Old 10-01-2016, 05:54 AM
Vic Z

Rudder has become very active
Still has the safe receiver in it, but I dont use it in training mode so mostly just provides a little bit of stabilization in the wind when in precision mode. Otherwise you are pretty much on your own. Will be replacing the rx soon as you have to switch "modes" to get the big throws, and again to fly at any speed. More of a pita than anything else.
I can stay in harrier for as long as i want, but still finding the balance between elevator and throttle. Nose too high and it won't steer, too low and it picks up speed.
Have only been working it for 2 outings (once a week due to that inconvenient thing called a job), but getting better and having a blast.