Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Corona Receivers???

Old 03-25-2008, 02:49 AM
  #1  
dchaf
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: REELVILLE, INDIANA, RURAL AREA
Posts: 8
Default Corona Receivers???

HI EVERYONE. JUST WANTED TO INQUIRE, HAS
ANYONE HAD EXPERIENCE GOOD OR BAD WITH ;THE CORONA RECEIVERS.
dchaf
dchaf is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:59 AM
  #2  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by dchaf View Post
HI EVERYONE. JUST WANTED TO INQUIRE, HAS
ANYONE HAD EXPERIENCE GOOD OR BAD WITH ;THE CORONA RECEIVERS.
dchaf
I've got a mess of um (Synthesized) RP4S1 4Ch, and Love um, I use um with no prob's at all , your bub, steve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 390.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	142.3 KB
ID:	60657   Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 406.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	245.8 KB
ID:	60658   Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 409.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	277.9 KB
ID:	60659   Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 536.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	156.3 KB
ID:	60660  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 03:03 AM
  #3  
dchaf
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: REELVILLE, INDIANA, RURAL AREA
Posts: 8
Default

THANKS MUCH STEVE. I WILL PROBABLY TRY THE 4 CHANNEL RX. IT SOUNDS LIKE THEY HAVE GOOD RANGE.
dick
dchaf is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 03:27 AM
  #4  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

They Do!! your bub, steve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 358.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	300.7 KB
ID:	60672  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:02 AM
  #5  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,264
Default

I have had bad luck with the corona receiver, in glitching a lot, and short range, I was trying to save a few dollars, and it wound up costing me my plane, I only buy Berg Receivers Nowdays, have never had a glitch with them, and they are the best receiver for FM , here is a great place to get the Berg receivers, they cost a little more, but its cheap insurance against ruining a plane, they are on sale, with a free crystal and free shipping, Cant Beat that Belive me, once you use Berg Receivers, You will Be Spoiled, you wont want to use anything Else, They are that good, I use the 4S4L receiver



http://b-p-p.com/products.php?cat=39
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:10 AM
  #6  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

CHELLIE:: was yours the Synthesized ones?? sorry to here about your plane (bummer) those bergs are only 5$ more,, not bad my bub'ett, not bad, yours steve
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:20 AM
  #7  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,264
Default

Originally Posted by stevecooper View Post
CHELLIE:: was yours the Synthesized ones?? sorry to here about your plane (bummer) those bergs are only 5$ more,, not bad my bub'ett, not bad, yours steve
I was useing the corona RS410 single conversion receivers, I gave them away, they work, but, not that well, I did not trust them, I am using the Berg receivers on a Wing doing almost 100 MPH, I trust the Berg receivers for high speed,

[media]http://youtube.com/watch?v=S_DW6RksbDg[/media]
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:31 AM
  #8  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default don't drive but 55MPH

CHELLIE::I fly the RP4S1 single conversion, And I don't drive but 55MPH!!!!HaHaaa! your bub,steve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 535.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	223.8 KB
ID:	60704  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 07:13 PM
  #9  
write2dgray
ProgressiveRC
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 159
Default

Fellow Berg lover here...they (micro 4 and 7p) have never let me down. I have used a Corona 4 and 6 channel and have experienced mild glitching on both in heli applications.

- David
write2dgray is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:37 PM
  #10  
dchaf
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: REELVILLE, INDIANA, RURAL AREA
Posts: 8
Default

THANKS TO ALL FOR THE INFORMATION. I HAD
NO EXPERIENCE WITH THE CORONA BRAND AND
NEEDED TO KNOW WHAT I MIGHT BE GETTING INTO.
dchaf
dchaf is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 12:04 AM
  #11  
Joe 1320
Super Contributor
 
Joe 1320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sebring, Florida
Posts: 1,140
Default

I have perhaps 20 of the SC 4 challe versions with a crystal. Never a problem.... unless the antenna wire is close to the battery. That's the only time I ever had a glitch. Re-routed the antenna and no problems since. They will continue to get my money!
Joe 1320 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 04:06 AM
  #12  
nipper
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 172
Default

i have a new corona RP4S1 synthesized receiver that seems imposible to work with motor power on, as soon as i open up the motor the aileron twitches badly. my 3 d is now destroyed from this and i have bench tested it in a totally differnt model / motor / esc set up and it still gives this bad glitch. any ideas of what this problem is ? thanks.
nipper is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 04:30 AM
  #13  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by nipper View Post
i have a new corona RP4S1 synthesized receiver that seems imposible to work with motor power on, as soon as i open up the motor the aileron twitches badly. my 3 d is now destroyed from this and i have bench tested it in a totally differnt model / motor / esc set up and it still gives this bad glitch. any ideas of what this problem is ? thanks.
I've got them in darn near every plane I fly and am order'in more( they came off backorder) for the rest, Never head any Hassles at all, Sounds like your plug'in up backwards on one side( easy to do) hows the Ant, routed? bub, steve
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 04:46 AM
  #14  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,264
Default

Originally Posted by nipper View Post
i have a new corona RP4S1 synthesized receiver that seems imposible to work with motor power on, as soon as i open up the motor the aileron twitches badly. my 3 d is now destroyed from this and i have bench tested it in a totally differnt model / motor / esc set up and it still gives this bad glitch. any ideas of what this problem is ? thanks.
Check that your wires are plugged in right, + to + - to - and signal to signal, keep all wires and antenna wire away from servo wires, esc and battery, if you have done that, the receiver might not be any good, try to get your money back, If you cant get your money back, Then Take a BFH to the receiver , Stay away from Corona receivers, they took out my plane too, and buy a BERG receiver, They are the Best, Take care, Chellie

http://b-p-p.com/products.php?cat=39

Last edited by CHELLIE; 03-26-2008 at 05:07 AM.
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:53 PM
  #15  
Joe 1320
Super Contributor
 
Joe 1320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sebring, Florida
Posts: 1,140
Default

Originally Posted by nipper View Post
i have a new corona RP4S1 synthesized receiver that seems imposible to work with motor power on, as soon as i open up the motor the aileron twitches badly. my 3 d is now destroyed from this and i have bench tested it in a totally differnt model / motor / esc set up and it still gives this bad glitch. any ideas of what this problem is ? thanks.
My bet is an intermittant servo lead contact. I've had that exact problem before and took me weeks to track it down. It could be anywhere along the harness from the rx to the servo itself.
Joe 1320 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:40 PM
  #16  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by Joe 1320 View Post
My bet is an intermittant servo lead contact. I've had that exact problem before and took me weeks to track it down. It could be anywhere along the harness from the rx to the servo itself.
Joe :: Good call! Thats why I solder all my conn's & Y's myself, Plugs & harnesses are probs just'a a wait'in, your bub, steve PS
CHELLIE:: I'm gettin two "bergs" and cancel'in my backordered Synthesized corona's, You never steered me wrong, thanks, your bub, steve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 355.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	189.2 KB
ID:	60855  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:30 PM
  #17  
dchaf
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: REELVILLE, INDIANA, RURAL AREA
Posts: 8
Default

CHELLIE , I JUST PLACED ORDER FOR BERG. RX
ALSO. THANKS FOR THE WEB-SITE. dchaf
dchaf is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:52 PM
  #18  
write2dgray
ProgressiveRC
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 159
Default

I guarantee that you guys won't be disappointed in any Berg product made. It's unfortunate that Berg has not jumped into the 2.4 gig market. Their products are exceptional, but market share has certainly greatly diminished in recent months and we have not seen a new Berg product since the addition of the horizontal pinned variant of the 7 channel.

- David
write2dgray is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:45 AM
  #19  
nipper
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 172
Default

whats the range like with these Berg receivers ?
nipper is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:49 AM
  #20  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,264
Default

Originally Posted by dchaf View Post
CHELLIE , I JUST PLACED ORDER FOR BERG. RX
ALSO. THANKS FOR THE WEB-SITE. dchaf

Your very welcome Chellie
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:53 AM
  #21  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,264
Default

Originally Posted by nipper View Post
whats the range like with these Berg receivers ?

I would say 1 Mile +

Here is a little more Information on the Berg Receivers, and it explaines why they are so good

http://www.castlecreations.com/suppo...user_guide.pdf

Transmitter Signal Recognition (TSR) process:
When you first turn on the receiver, it ‘learns’ the characteristics
and specific signature of your particular transmitter. After that
process is completed (less than a second), the receiver will only
listen to your transmitter*. This process gets repeated every
time you turn the receiver ON.
*If a similar transmitter on the
same channel is powered up and is CLOSER to your receiver
than your own transmitter is, loss of signal may be experienced.

True Digital Signal Processing (TDSP):
TDSP is a proprietary process developed by Peter Berg, the
originator of digital signal processing within the decoders of
R/C receivers. In addition to highly advanced double tuned
RF filtering hardware, Berg by Castle Creations receivers
incorporate a microprocessor and software to further filter the
incoming signal before it’s passed on to the servos. The TDSP
software looks at the incoming signals, and via it’s adaptive
algorithms, decides which signals are valid and which are not
(“glitches”). While most standard receivers simply pass on these
invalid signals to the servos (a “glitch”), with TDSP these invalid
signals are discarded. Aside from the peace of mind our top
of the line receiver technology brings you, you’ll also notice a
difference in the “feel” of your aircraft. You will absolutely feel
more solidly and positively connected to your aircraft!
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:57 AM
  #22  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,264
Default

Originally Posted by stevecooper View Post
Joe :: Good call! Thats why I solder all my conn's & Y's myself, Plugs & harnesses are probs just'a a wait'in, your bub, steve PS
CHELLIE:: I'm gettin two "bergs" and cancel'in my backordered Synthesized corona's, You never steered me wrong, thanks, your bub, steve
Your going to Be Spoiled Now Steve You can even feel the difference with the berg receivers, very very solid control of your plane, I just wish I would have known about them sooner Take care and stay Sweet, Chellie
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:11 AM
  #23  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,264
Default

I am Not Advertising for Berg But I have to let people know that their Aircraft with a Berg receiver, Is Almost like having a 2.4 Radio System, IMHO its the very Best receiver for FM, I found that out real Quick, the way that my planes fly Now, Sweet, and No More Glitching I Think I could have saved a few Planes, If I knew about these receivers Sooner, Take care and have fun, Chellie


PS ---- As with all Receivers and Crystals, Use a little clear Tape to help hold the Crystal in place, Its a little insurance from it ever wanting to vibrate loose.




I am making this unsolicited, uncompensated (and all the other legal terms) product endorsement because THEY WORK GREAT

Last edited by CHELLIE; 03-28-2008 at 07:06 AM.
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:11 AM
  #24  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Your going to Be Spoiled Now Steve You can even feel the difference with the berg receivers, very very solid control of your plane, I just wish I would have known about them sooner Take care and stay Sweet, Chellie
Thanks Ms Chellie, Like I said ," you've never steered me wrong", your bub, steve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	petty an red 360.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	317.8 KB
ID:	61007  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:29 AM
  #25  
gasser1933
Member
 
gasser1933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Originally Posted by stevecooper View Post
I've got a mess of um (Synthesized) RP4S1 4Ch, and Love um, I use um with no prob's at all , your bub, steve
I've got one 6-channel dual conversion and one 4-channel synthesized and no problwms here either. The 4-channel is flying in my EasyStaar that flies REALLY high and far away and it works great! I just wish they would make a 6-channel synthesized too.
gasser1933 is offline  

Quick Reply: Corona Receivers???


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.13060 seconds with 21 queries