The Chino Renegades RC Fliers Club - Page 434 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Off Topic Chit Chat Get to know other eflight modelers in the WattFlyer community here in this off topic forum. NO politics or religion discussion please (Holiday well wishes are ok)

The Chino Renegades RC Fliers Club

Old 04-19-2010, 10:14 AM
  #10826  
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,380
Thumbs up

Sorry the big Texan went down, Chong......but by the pics of it after the repairs it looks great! Good job fixing the "wouldn" plane...hahha

**Hope you guys can get the radio issues solved, crossed fingers for ya**

Ni Nite, Steve....

Wrench66 is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 05:52 PM
  #10827  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Chong saying the speed control (100 amp) and bec were both warm after the crash make me thing something is drawing too many amps , maybe put the amp meter on it , "mix" the sticks around to see the amp draw , unplug one servo at a time to see which thing drawing too much maybe put some weights on controls to up amp draw , check all solder joints/plugs , but there were a bunch of brownouts/stuff happening yesterday , and the day before , and the day before , (geeze i think im going flying too much) Chong , do you have any 7000 receivers ? Might be worth the investment for the big stuff .......
TbigD is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 06:00 PM
  #10828  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Steve , wadda ya think ? [media]http://media.hyperion.hk/dn/model/box/HELIOS-63-BoxLabel.jpg[/media] if they has the sukol in the red id get it , they have a yellow one and im not liking it too much ........
TbigD is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 06:49 PM
  #10829  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by TbigD View Post
Chong saying the speed control (100 amp) and bec were both warm after the crash make me thing something is drawing too many amps , maybe put the amp meter on it , "mix" the sticks around to see the amp draw , unplug one servo at a time to see which thing drawing too much maybe put some weights on controls to up amp draw , check all solder joints/plugs , but there were a bunch of brownouts/stuff happening yesterday , and the day before , and the day before , (geeze i think im going flying too much) Chong , do you have any 7000 receivers ? Might be worth the investment for the big stuff .......

I went through all my connections and they were good. I hate cutting shrink wrap to find a well done solder connection just to have to unsolder and rewrap.. but now I'm 100 % sure..

some things to note.. WOT i'm at 44amps.. so I'm good there..

however.. my retract servo is completely burned out! Might have been the culprit..

I really think the AR7000 is overkill though.. since it's really an AR6200 with an additional channel. I don't think it's any more robust.. but who knows. I see posts about the 7000 browing out as many as 6200s.

Who's got an extra 72 setup?? lol..


Also.. has anyone ordered from HK right before the volcano deal happened? I've had an order held up for a week now! That's long for me.
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:06 PM
  #10830  
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,380
Default

Originally Posted by HobbyCity_PwnsME View Post
I went through all my connections and they were good. I hate cutting shrink wrap to find a well done solder connection just to have to unsolder and rewrap.. but now I'm 100 % sure..

some things to note.. WOT i'm at 44amps.. so I'm good there..

however.. my retract servo is completely burned out! Might have been the culprit..

I really think the AR7000 is overkill though.. since it's really an AR6200 with an additional channel. I don't think it's any more robust.. but who knows. I see posts about the 7000 browing out as many as 6200s.

Who's got an extra 72 setup?? lol..


Also.. has anyone ordered from HK right before the volcano deal happened? I've had an order held up for a week now! That's long for me.
LOL... step into my office, Grasshopper....LOL
Wrench66 is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:06 PM
  #10831  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Sounds like you found it , had to be something like that , do you have fixed gear for it ? I didnt know the 7000's were having issues too , Im thinking its not so much 2.4 but spektrum 2.4 , I dont see too many issues with the hitec and futuba , Im loving my 72mgz 9cap more and more each day ,
TbigD is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:09 PM
  #10832  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1230850
TbigD is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:47 PM
  #10833  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Hmm... well this is weird.

Investigating further, I remember saying the red led was flashing.. thinking this was a power outtage or voltage error.. uh duh.. if the receiver browned out instead of failsafed, it wouldn't have flashed that red (holds it had)

SOOOOO... it lost signal... that's a bummer. Othewise, it would have just flashed orange (just like leaving the TX on and unplugging and re-plugging the battery). It would have cleared the holds and wouldn't have been flashing red.

Thing is.. on an AR6200 in a balsa plane with receivers on both sides of the fuse (and the Dx7 antennae folded straight up)..

How could it have happened? I could have shadowed.. but that seems unlikely..

Losing signal on an AR6200 sounds like bad times.


*sigh*

What happened? My supercub had rudder/elevator and throttle at 15 amps?? How did we get to this? lol

Last edited by HobbyCity_PwnsME; 04-19-2010 at 09:52 PM.
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:11 PM
  #10834  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Or http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...0#post14890226
TbigD is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:19 PM
  #10835  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Chong , check this out , not so much the plane but he used a seperate bec for the retract servo http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1230999
TbigD is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:39 PM
  #10836  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by TbigD View Post
Chong , check this out , not so much the plane but he used a seperate bec for the retract servo http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1230999

Great..

Now I'm interested in the plane too! lol..

it thought about wiring seperately for th retract servo.. but the one I use shuts down once open/closed or stalled. I thought the servo burning out was the culprit but my RX never lost power or shorted.. it had continous power. I DID have the red HOLD Led flashing.. so either my Tx screwed up and lost signal for abit OR my Rx lost signal somehow... that's strange for the 6200 on a wood fuse with sat on opposite ends..

Weird.. I don't really believe most of those lockout stories from that side of the field.. but I checked out Al's video and sure enough I was flying over on the other side near the fence (the original Bermuda Triangle)..

I think the servo burned out because my retracts were down when it crashed and the impact broke both gears off that could have jolted it.

BUT.. why was the ESC and BEC so freakin warm??

Oh well.. I'm going to do a couple tests... then run it WOT all servos going for 4 or so mins and see what's happening. Check the Amp draw.. etc.

I may even try that superbrain to log everything...

Since this frame has already crashed twice I'm not too worried if it goes in again.. as long as it goes in away from people and cars!
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 04:35 AM
  #10837  
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 72
Default Helis Y !!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 029.jpg
Views:	193
Size:	194.5 KB
ID:	125996

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 001.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	202.9 KB
ID:	125997

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 022.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	145.2 KB
ID:	125998Havent you guys been talking about losing power in certain times called a black out or brown out ,, well i was in my second battery flying my heli, and doing really good then I took my heli up and did a really fast flip and then as i was up side down and had no power for like 2 to 3 seconds , oh my , this is the first time is ever happened to me , my 250 did the same ,Steve said it was my servo going to far, but my 450 Y ,, damn this sucks,,, Some day Ill catch up !!!!!

oh I found a really cool place to fly in Chino , But its all dirt and weeds but where i live its hard to come by a place to fly ,, but a very open field and nobody around !!!!!
Slip23us is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 04:41 AM
  #10838  
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,646
Default

Tin foil hats. Will cure the alien interferance.
Alpea42 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 04:46 AM
  #10839  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by Slip23us View Post
Attachment 125996

Attachment 125997

Attachment 125998Havent you guys been talking about losing power in certain times called a black out or brown out ,, well i was in my second battery flying my heli, and doing really good then I took my heli up and did a really fast flip and then as i was up side down and had no power for like 2 to 3 seconds , oh my , this is the first time is ever happened to me , my 250 did the same ,Steve said it was my servo going to far, but my 450 Y ,, damn this sucks,,, Some day Ill catch up !!!!!

oh I found a really cool place to fly in Chino , But its all dirt and weeds but where i live its hard to come by a place to fly ,, but a very open field and nobody around !!!!!

Yikes!

Bummer! Did you check your RX light? Or was everything disconnected by that time??


Another twist to the Texan mystery...

I amped the motor on the same size prop I used.. get this.. Hi timing.. 1200watts.. med.. 750! WTH??

Instead of 4 cells I went back down to cells and now I'm in the 6-700 watt range on high timing (motor shrieks at med still)...
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 04:46 AM
  #10840  
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 72
Default

Originally Posted by Alpea42 View Post
Tin foil hats. Will cure the alien interferance.
Can you make me one i out of foil ? Damn but it looks like its sleeping !!
Slip23us is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 04:50 AM
  #10841  
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 72
Default

Originally Posted by HobbyCity_PwnsME View Post
Yikes!

Bummer! Did you check your RX light? Or was everything disconnected by that time??


Another twist to the Texan mystery...

I amped the motor on the same size prop I used.. get this.. Hi timing.. 1200watts.. med.. 750! WTH??

Instead of 4 cells I went back down to cells and now I'm in the 6-700 watt range on high timing (motor shrieks at med still)...
i just ran over and unplugged the battery so nothing else would happen ,,, has this reciver thing been happening alot Chong cause this is bull [email protected]$^
Slip23us is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 05:23 AM
  #10842  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by Slip23us View Post
i just ran over and unplugged the battery so nothing else would happen ,,, has this reciver thing been happening alot Chong cause this is bull [email protected]$^

lol.. well it happened to you once...

happened to me twice. first time i was lucky as it caught signal at the last moment..

second time.. my 54" balsa built up Texan went if from about 100ft up.. luckily I was able to rebuild it pretty darn good.

I'm trying to figure out what happened... the only consistent variables were they were spektrum rxes.. a 6110e and 6200. And they both happened in the same area of the field at IE.



I think I figured out what happened though.. which is all I can ask for.
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 05:53 AM
  #10843  
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,646
Default

I saw a portable household phone on a T V show today and right on the front of it under the dial info screen it said 2.4 ghz. So I just checked the one under my P C desk ( unused for years) and sure enough it also says 2.4 ghz. But Spectrum systems are supposed to ignore these causes of interferance. Hmmm only if you are wearing a tin foil hat I guess.
Alpea42 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 05:55 AM
  #10844  
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,646
Default

I'ld hate to think that a portable household phone handset could shoot down a R/C plane.
Alpea42 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 06:36 AM
  #10845  
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 72
Default

Originally Posted by Alpea42 View Post
I'ld hate to think that a portable household phone handset could shoot down a R/C plane.
im kinda serious!!
Slip23us is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 06:41 AM
  #10846  
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 72
Default

Originally Posted by Slip23us View Post
im kinda serious!!
jk Al ,, the aliens are watching !!!! us flying
Slip23us is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 07:29 AM
  #10847  
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Default

Originally Posted by Alpea42 View Post
I'ld hate to think that a portable household phone handset could shoot down a R/C plane.

lol.. that would suck... but 2.4 ghz is supposed to be pretty good at filtering out dirty codes and maintaining a good rf connection to our tx's...

we were talking about that at the field.. i don't think most cordless phones output more than .001 - .010 watts... there are amplifiers.. and now everything runs on 2.4..

we need spektrum to step up past 5.8
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 04:49 PM
  #10848  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Chong , did any one else want a plane from allerc ? LOL , this week im likeing the Hyperion Helios f3a 63e , if you have time , could you see what they would sell it to you for ? I think regular price is 215.00 if you can get it for 190.00 ish , order it for me please , ive got the cash on hand i can give you now ....Dennis
TbigD is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 07:41 PM
  #10849  
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,646
Default

Just mailed my non-op Spektrum equipment into Horizon. DX6I, DX6, Ar6000 Rx , 3 Ar 6110 Rxs, and my E Flight Power 25 motor that seems to need bearings. I've put off sending this stuff in long enough. $15 shipping..... Horizons good about service so I hope I get it all back good as new for no charge...Or even if it costs me $50 bucks that's less than the price of buying it all new.
Alpea42 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 07:48 PM
  #10850  
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Al when you get it all back it will be like christmas at your place ............
TbigD is offline  

Quick Reply: The Chino Renegades RC Fliers Club


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.16074 seconds with 10 queries