Electric Ducted Fan Jets Discuss electric ducted fan jets here including setup tips, power systems, flying techniques, etc.

Cermark Bd-5

Old 03-12-2006, 09:38 AM
  #1  
Bmiller
EDF Member
Thread Starter
 
Bmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 793
Default Cermark Bd-5

Got this today! It looks good!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 082.jpg
Views:	663
Size:	110.8 KB
ID:	8551   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 083.jpg
Views:	677
Size:	99.8 KB
ID:	8552   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 084.jpg
Views:	967
Size:	113.5 KB
ID:	8553  
Bmiller is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:42 PM
  #2  
Netmechanic
I throw Jets
 
Netmechanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 455
Default

Dude, THE LHS has got to be lovin you! Isn't that like the 254th Kit you've gotten this week! If I was that guy I'd be throwing some turbine kits out on the counter for ya!
Netmechanic is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 08:59 PM
  #3  
turbonut
aw hell no brakes
 
turbonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: rancho cucamonga
Posts: 108
Default

Hey it isnt even the local hobbie shop for Bruce! He drives 45 min up to my part of town..I think the two best shops are here! Pegasus and Hobbie club( Not the big co.) Both are very well stocked and will order anything you want! Dont Laff about putting out stuff for one buyer..one of the old employes used to buy stuff he thought I would like and hide it untill I showed up! It worked too often..Just ask Bruce he ahs see some of the evidense!
Scott
turbonut is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 09:25 PM
  #4  
termite
Super Contributor
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Utica Illinois
Posts: 1,055
Default

Bruce,
What ya gonna push it with???

Randy
termite is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:28 AM
  #5  
Bmiller
EDF Member
Thread Starter
 
Bmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 793
Default

Hey! It was "only" the 4th kit this week!

I got a himax2825/1400 as per the optional power package on the box for it. I read a few threads on it lately and thats okay performance but, possibly a mega 16/15/X?? I'll see what you got for options!
I'll fly it next week and figure out if more power and 2100 packs will work better than the recommended 1400kv and TP1320 prolites.
Herb went GAGA over this beauty at the field today and he's hard to impress!

Bruce

PS, Scott has ROOMS of kits! He ought to EBAY his stuff and retire!!!
Bmiller is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:34 AM
  #6  
termite
Super Contributor
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Utica Illinois
Posts: 1,055
Default

I can relate to Herb's excitment.

Fellow had one at the AZ Fest and man it sure looks sweet in the air, he said it flew really nice too. Can't remember his setup but i'm sure what ya got will do just fine for a few flights then Tim Allen syndrome will set in and it'll be MORE POWER aarrrhhh arrrhhh arrrhhh :p

We'll be watching
Randy
termite is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:51 AM
  #7  
turbonut
aw hell no brakes
 
turbonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: rancho cucamonga
Posts: 108
Default

Ok Bruce what you need to do is convert it to edf and have bd5-J...A friend has a full scale that had and alison in it.But almsot couldnt get airborn so I found him a 650lb thrust continental from a target drone on Ebay! Should rock if he ever finnishes it!
Scott
turbonut is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 03:14 AM
  #8  
termite
Super Contributor
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Utica Illinois
Posts: 1,055
Default

Hey Turbo now you are talkin' :p

Randy
termite is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 04:45 AM
  #9  
Netmechanic
I throw Jets
 
Netmechanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 455
Default

Originally Posted by Bmiller View Post
1400kv and TP1320 prolites.
1400 KV, Heck nobody ever got anywhere on 1400KV!

16/15/3 on 3S2100 5X5
16/15/4 on 4S2100 5X5

That will make it go in at a respectable speed!
Netmechanic is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 04:56 AM
  #10  
termite
Super Contributor
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Utica Illinois
Posts: 1,055
Default

GO IN

Randy
termite is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:00 AM
  #11  
termite
Super Contributor
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Utica Illinois
Posts: 1,055
Default

Amp draw would be a little much unless ya go 2P on them set ups Net.

Randy
termite is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:26 AM
  #12  
Bmiller
EDF Member
Thread Starter
 
Bmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 793
Default

Yeah thats kinda hot!
I'll fly this "hi thrust" setup first before I go IN at max speed!

Bruce
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 085.jpg
Views:	565
Size:	141.0 KB
ID:	8575  
Bmiller is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 06:13 AM
  #13  
Bill G
Super Contrubutor
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Central PA
Posts: 4,422
Default

Hey Bruce, there's that SU27 in your pic that I was talking about in an other thread, that's just asking to be converted to brushless EDF30s or 40s.
Bill G is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 06:42 AM
  #14  
Netmechanic
I throw Jets
 
Netmechanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 455
Default

I would disagree, I run this setup in my projeti all the time, keep in mind you wont need to hold it floored all the time unless your trying to make craters in the ground . Heck I'm running a Jipmax 2025 5200 on 4S TP1320 in my mini vector and in my Hughes H-1. In fact in the Projeti I'm running 5X5.5 it runs good on 3S and insane on 4S and for the real kicker, I'm only using a CC35, everyone says it wont work so I guess I got the "special one":p Keep in mind what they said about my motor setup in the JePe A-4 Randy, "IT Will Never Work, You'll Burn the motor up!" But you and I both new it would and sure enough it did.
Netmechanic is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 11:25 AM
  #15  
Bmiller
EDF Member
Thread Starter
 
Bmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 793
Default

I'll run some numbers, do some research, we'll see, but first it needs to fly!
Conversion to EDF would be hard(impossible?)The round part of the fuse where the motor goes is maybe 30mm! So even a edf40 wouldn't fit!

Thats my Ultrafly SU-27 pusher in the photo, I think the Flytosky SU-27 is the same airframe with everything setup for EDF. The foam removed, new hollowed out lower piece, etc...
This thing is my current favorite! Parachutes to the ground like a leaf!
You can get really stupid with it and get away with it!lol

Last edited by Bmiller; 03-17-2006 at 03:41 AM.
Bmiller is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 03:08 PM
  #16  
easytiger
Banned Permanently
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,378
Default

I don't beleive the Flytosky(AMD, Aero-Fever) has anything at all to do with the Ultrafly plane, I have heard someone say "oh it must be a copy of the ultrafly" but I sincerly doubt it. Anybody have a pic of the ultrafly components handy?
easytiger is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 03:12 PM
  #17  
easytiger
Banned Permanently
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,378
Default

I just checked a pic of the Ultrafly Su-27 versus my AMD(Aero-Fever, Flytosky) one...
Not ONE component is the same, the two planes are totally unrelated, let's put the rumor of one being a copy of the other to bed.
The AMD one is an all-new molding.
easytiger is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 04:28 PM
  #18  
termite
Super Contributor
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Utica Illinois
Posts: 1,055
Default

Net
Yes I recall what everyone said so it must be true; you are lucky dude :p

Randy
termite is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:40 PM
  #19  
Netmechanic
I throw Jets
 
Netmechanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 455
Default

I have my moments

Also keep in mind that props unload alot more than fans once your flying.
Netmechanic is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:18 PM
  #20  
Bmiller
EDF Member
Thread Starter
 
Bmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 793
Default

Originally Posted by easytiger View Post
I just checked a pic of the Ultrafly Su-27 versus my AMD(Aero-Fever, Flytosky) one...
Not ONE component is the same, the two planes are totally unrelated, let's put the rumor of one being a copy of the other to bed.
The AMD one is an all-new molding.
I thought it was flytosky selling these things for 30 bucks from china?
Using edf55 units. From the pics I saw it was the same with the bottom modded for EDF. Never heard of an AMD connection between them, Oh well!
btw, These Ultrafly pushers are really close to scale. Thats what made me buy them all! (Thought you'd like to know that Net!)
BaE hawk,SU-27,F-16)Still need to build the hawk,might convert that to EDF!
Bmiller is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 12:39 AM
  #21  
Netmechanic
I throw Jets
 
Netmechanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 455
Default

Heck if you want scale order the Savage SU-27, $300 for the kit + x2 on all the electronics, should only set you back ~$1700 ready to go.
Netmechanic is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:48 AM
  #22  
Bmiller
EDF Member
Thread Starter
 
Bmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 793
Default

Sheesh is that all! I should buy a couple!
Hey I'm not rich I'm just making up for the 3years I was out of the hobby!
And I'm about out of space to keep the kits I have!
Anyway to get back on subject, I got 2 HS55s/HS56s/electron6 RX/CC25A to put in it tonite. The ailerons are LONG so the 56s will go on those the 55s for elevator and steering, Kit came with brushless motor extension wires already soldered up with 3.5mm bullet connectors so I just plugged my motor and ESC right on and installed it! They even have a loop of velcro for the pack already installed! This thing is sweet!
Bmiller is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 03:51 AM
  #23  
Bmiller
EDF Member
Thread Starter
 
Bmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 793
Default

It's about ready for flight! went with a HS-81MG servo for steering, ailerons got HS-56s and elevator uses an HS-55. The nosewheel strut is directly below the battery so I'm gonna cover that with SOMETHING! (Looking thru parts drawer) Also the elevator linkage flexes badly in one spot when I apply up elevator so I'll add a support at the appropriate spot. Going with my 3S Apex2200s as its very tailheavy with the 1320s.
You know these darn 1320prolites are so lite I don't have a single plane that'll balance with them! Maybe they'll work when I build my Alfa mig or Huck!
Bruce
Bmiller is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 05:29 PM
  #24  
wireit
Registered Rotor Abuser
 
wireit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wildwood, Florida
Posts: 121
Default

I have a customer that got one last week he chickend out on the Afterburner MR 028/056/1900 I set out with it.... the 28 himax flys it ok but theres more to be had for the "fearless flyer"..... ( or mad man more like it)

I think I just coined a phrase.... na there must be lots of fearless flyers putting most of 400 watts in a 200 watt plane.

joe
wireit is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 06:27 PM
  #25  
easytiger
Banned Permanently
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,378
Default

Originally Posted by Bmiller View Post
I thought it was flytosky selling these things for 30 bucks from china?
Using edf55 units. From the pics I saw it was the same with the bottom modded for EDF. Never heard of an AMD connection between them, Oh well!
btw, These Ultrafly pushers are really close to scale. Thats what made me buy them all! (Thought you'd like to know that Net!)
BaE hawk,SU-27,F-16)Still need to build the hawk,might convert that to EDF!
FLytosky has them also.
If you look carefully...look at the cockpit, the exhausts, everything...you will see the moldings are totally different.
easytiger is offline  

Quick Reply: Cermark Bd-5


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11834 seconds with 16 queries