Castle Creations discussion All things Castle

Question Castle Link Live

Old 02-16-2016, 08:22 AM
  #1  
bob_nj
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 25
Arrow Castle Link Live

Anyone using Castle Link Live?

If so, I'm a little confused as to which controllers it works with?

Thanks
Bob
bob_nj is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 05:55 PM
  #2  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,941
Default

I would call the Castle support team and get it straight from them, they are very nice and helped me through something a few years ago.

The live link seems to be step one for telemetry, while the Serial link seems to be both step one and two, but I don't get the impression that they are a full telemetry system. Castle has some ECS's (at least they did) that have data logging built in, I have one of those, it is very cool.

I would like a system that could send all info down to a receiver plugged into my laptop, which would then record it.
It probably exists, but I haven't seen a clearly understandable kit of stuff to do it.
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 02-17-2016, 09:01 AM
  #3  
bob_nj
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 25
Default

Thanks for the reply.
I was hoping to talk to them at the WRAM show, but I'll be travelling for work.

As far as recording your telemetry, I use the Taranis radio and it does all that you
want to do and more for around $189.

Check it out.

Thanks
Bob
bob_nj is offline  
Old 02-17-2016, 10:28 AM
  #4  
bob_nj
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 25
Default

While I'm thinking about it,
I was installing Castle Link on a new computer and I somehow checked the box
to open .csv files with the Castle software and now I can't figure out how to change it
back to Excel.

The files won't open now and it's frustrating.

Windows 7

Thanks for any help
Bob
bob_nj is offline  
Old 02-18-2016, 05:26 AM
  #5  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,941
Default

I am going to buy a Taranis when I can but I may have to sell something or catch a small job. It's tough living on a fixed income that is a LOT lower than when I was a union carpenter in the Puget Sound area at over $36.00 an hour.
3 times I have came very close to buying a Taranis transmitter, the closest being less than 3 weeks ago, I was looking at one that had been the display unit for a local supplier, when the guy standing beside me said "I just bought that".
I missed it by 5 minutes. It was the first model for $100.00, but I really wanted the plus version anyway. I will buy the whole kit when I do.

I have several friends that have them.

I want to be able to hook up telemetry to my laptop, and record the entire telemetry for the whole flight, so that I can study it later. I can get an Altis GPS, but it wouldn't record motor data for power planes.

As for the PC.

Go to -------- start
then --------- control panel
then --------- folder options
then --------- file types
find .csv in the list on left side
You should then be able to change the association to Microsoft Excel

Good luck
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 02-18-2016, 09:27 AM
  #6  
bob_nj
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 25
Arrow Should have mentioned -->

Thanks for the reply.
I did that and for some reason Excel isn't listed there
bob_nj is offline  
Old 02-18-2016, 06:14 PM
  #7  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,941
Default

I'll try to figure that out on my windows PC

Okay, like an idiot I left off the last steps.

When you find ---- .CSV on left side, left click on it.
That brings up;----- Details for .CSV extension, with a box below.
There is a change button.
When I click on that, it brings up a separate box to the right, called;----
Open with. choose the program you want to use to open this file.
You should see a list of your installed programs.
You should find Excel in the list.
click on it, and the OK button

That should do it

Last edited by Wildflyer; 02-18-2016 at 07:04 PM.
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 02-19-2016, 11:09 PM
  #8  
bob_nj
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 25
Default

Did that too.
Choices are;
Castle Link
Microsoft Application Virtualization DDE Launcher
OpenOffice Calc

When I use OpenOfficeCalc it opens, but not like Excel used to.

Thanks
Bob
bob_nj is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ServoCity
New Product Announcements
0
04-22-2014 04:26 PM
Merritt
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
08-08-2011 04:55 AM
FlyWheel
Castle Creations discussion
10
07-31-2011 06:22 PM
rckrazy
Castle Creations discussion
9
06-17-2011 04:27 AM
1987tc
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
03-05-2011 09:59 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Question Castle Link Live


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09383 seconds with 12 queries