RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Rudder not working right.. help!

Old 08-04-2021, 09:23 AM
  #1  
Danni
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 7
Default Rudder not working right.. help!

Hello, I need some help!
Today when i was about to go fly, my rudder started acting up.

So, the issue is quite weird and i dont really know how to explain it but..
when the motor is all the way off, my rudder is all the way to the left, and i am not able to turn it at all. It is just stuck. But if i increase the throttle to about 25% then the rudder suddenly moves to its default position and i now have full control over the rudder and can move it both left or right as normal.
But then again if i increase the throttle to about 75% and above, the rudder goes all the way to the right this time and i am again unable to move it out of there unless throttle is decreased.. so it is basically kinda linked to the throttle in a way, and i have seen nothing like it before

This has issue has appeared during the couple months that the plane has been sitting due to some new flying restrictions. And i had none of these problems the last time i flew. But now when i finally have a license i am not able to fly. Please help!

(I also have a video but i didn't see a option for it here)

Any ideas what the issue could be?
Danni is offline  
Old 08-04-2021, 11:21 AM
  #2  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,791
Default

Video needs to be hosted by Youtube or other such as Vimeo.

What radio Tx and Rx do you have ?

It sounds like throttle and rudder have become 'mixed' .... so what radio you have can help us to think what it might be.

OK - lets try a few things ..

REMOVE PROP
I would say disconnect throttle, connect to another slot in Rx. Now try rudder see what happens.
Next - reconnect throttle to its proper slot and move rudder to different slot and see what happens - it will mean using different control of course on Tx corresponding to where rudder is plugged in.

Trying to understand if there's any crossover between the two functions.

Question - do you use the Tx on another model ? Is that also acting strange ? Are you mode 1 or mode 2 ? Are throttle and rudder both on left stick ?
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-04-2021, 11:58 AM
  #3  
Danni
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 7
Default

All right here's the link for the video:

As for what radio i'm using it is an FMS 6 channel radio that came in the PNP kit with the plane. It is a FMS FXH-1280 plane and all i really know about the radio system is that it is 6 channel.
No i don't use this radio on anything else as it feels quite cheap and bad overall, i have had some proplems with the reverse aileron button switching mid air so i have been thinking about upgrading the system anyway. And i dont know what mode i'm in. How do i check?
Danni is offline  
Old 08-04-2021, 11:59 AM
  #4  
Danni
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 7
Default

I will now try what you suggested
Danni is offline  
Old 08-04-2021, 12:14 PM
  #5  
Danni
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 7
Default

So i connected the throttle to CH 6 instead of 3 that it was in, Still same problem except that the throttle obviously didnt work since i swapped ports. The rudder didn't turn before about 25% throttle and so on..
Next i connected the throttle to it's correct place as you said and put the rudder on the switch instead, this time the rudder was controlled by the 2 position switch as it should have, and no matter the throttle position it stayed in place as it should

So it seems like CH 3 and 4 has some kind of mix as you said. The controller has always been a bit iffy so i suspect that's the issue
Danni is offline  
Old 08-04-2021, 01:28 PM
  #6  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,791
Default

OK ... Mode 2 is Throttle and Rudder both on left stick. Judging by your video - you are Mode 2.

It sounds like you may have a gimbal problem ... that movement of one axis affects the other axis.

Is the model / radio still within warranty ? If so - go back to dealer and request solution.

If not - then you might remove back of TX and then check that Gimbals are working and fixed properly. .... any loose wires / connections ..

But yes .. FMS is a recognised brand and has provided good for many - but that radio does not inspire me with great thoughts. You will soon be looking for better and a move up in model ... so I would start thinking about what you are going to do.
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-04-2021, 01:52 PM
  #7  
Danni
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 7
Default

OK
Then i'm defintly mode 2.
I will check warranty, but if the warranty is expired then I will probably just buy a new TX.
I was about to buy a new one already after the time when the controller suddenly reversed the ailerons mid flight and I almost ran into a tree. So I have had some serious trust issues with it already

Thank you so much for the help! You figured out what the issue (probably) is!
Danni is offline  
Old 08-04-2021, 07:33 PM
  #8  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,791
Default

One question is what radio Format the FMS uses ... because it may be possible to use a Multi Protocol Radio and still have the original Rx in the model.

To be honest - I would suggest a Multi Protocol Radio anyway ... but not the Lite versions ... that way - you can literally fly anything with the one radio. You don't have to worry about Spektrum .. FlySky ... Futaba ... FrSky etc. - it works with most their systems. You get amazing mixing and combos of channels / functions. The price is also attractive with greater abaility than the proprietary Branded radios.
But that's my view ... I have the Radioking TX18S as my latest radio ... superb radio ....
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-05-2021, 06:43 AM
  #9  
gyrocptr
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Neenah Wisconsin
Posts: 250
Default

[This has issue has appeared during the couple months that the plane has been sitting due to some new flying restrictions. And i had none of these problems the last time i flew.]

This is a WAG. Try disconnecting (removing) battery from the transmitter, and then reinstalling the battery. This may reset the "computer".
gyrocptr is online now  
Old 08-06-2021, 06:12 AM
  #10  
Danni
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 7
Default

Originally Posted by solentlife View Post
To be honest - I would suggest a Multi Protocol Radio anyway ... but not the Lite versions ... that way - you can literally fly anything with the one radio ....
Allright that sounds great...
​​​​​​​ i will definitly take a look at hat
Danni is offline  
Old 08-06-2021, 06:19 AM
  #11  
Danni
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 7
Default

Originally Posted by gyrocptr View Post
This is a WAG. Try disconnecting (removing) battery from the transmitter, and then reinstalling the battery. This may reset the "computer".
I Will definitly try this aswell.
Sounds like an easy fix
Danni is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AEAJR
General Electric Discussions
225
05-27-2020 06:48 PM
Karnsy
Seaplanes E-Powered
3
07-23-2018 02:28 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Rudder not working right.. help!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10869 seconds with 13 queries